County of Maui Hawai'i
Stay ConnectedFacebookTwitterRSS
HomeContact Us
Iao Needle

Go To Search
print pageemail page
Motor Vehicle & Licensing
Motor Vehicle Registration & Licensing

Maui Mall Shopping Center
70 E. Kaahumanu Ave.
Suite A-17
Kahului, HI  96732

Ph: (808) 270-7363
Fax: (808) 270-7858

Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
The Motor Vehicle and Licensing Division provides direct service to the citizens of Maui County by issuing new and renewal licenses, motor vehicle registrations, various county business licenses, disabled parking placards, taxi driver permits, dog licenses and bicycle licenses. This division also administers commercial driver licenses, periodic motor vehicle inspections, and the issuance of disabled person's parking placards on behalf of the State of Hawaii.

Changes in State Identification Card and Driver's License Application Process

Beginning May 1, 2014, the cost of a state identification card and the documents required to obtain a driver’s license will change.

State ID’s will cost $40.00 with a fee of $5 per year. The state ID is good for 8 years, and a duplicate will cost $6.

Those obtaining a driver’s license will be required to present two forms of proof of principal residence in Hawaii. Principal residence is defined as the location where a person currently resides even if the residence location is temporary. Applicants must provide two documents with the applicant as the addressee and stating the applicant’s principal residence.

*Important News: Hawaii's Legal Presence Law
Implementation of the Legal Presence Act affects the issuance of all driver licensing and State of Hawaii identification Cards.  Proof of "legal presence" will be required of all individuals renewing, reinstating and applying for a Hawaii driver’s license, or learner’s permit or State of Hawaii Identification Card. Existing driver's permit holders must also comply with requirements before passing their road tests. These requirements apply to all U.S. citizens and foreign-born.

  • Online Vehicle Registration Renewal System
  • Road Test - Call (808) 270-8080 beginning at 
    8:00 a.m. one work day prior to the day you wish to take the road test.

Motor Vehicle and Licensing Office Locations & Wait Times 

Maui County Our County