Department of Public Works

Maui Recovers Opens in new windowThe County of Maui’s website provides important updates on recovery efforts, including re-entry to impacted areas, safety information for those returning to their property, fire debris removal, maps and data, water and wastewater, recovery phases and information on financial and housing assistance.

Public Works Administration directs and oversees the three operating divisions in the Department of Public Works:
The Public Works Department has a variety of duties.

What's New
Street names within the County of Maui.
The list includes; Private, County of Maui, State of Hawaii, Homestead and Government roads.
Report a Problem
Do you have a request or concern?  Let us know about it using the Maui County Request for Service website. 

Maui County currently has two roundabout intersections:  

  • Pi’ikea Avenue and Liloa Drive in Kihei
  • Kamehameha Avenue and Maui Lani Parkway
Roundabouts are significantly safer than traditional intersections, but their safety is limited to each driver’s understanding of how to navigate through them.

Do you know how to navigate a roundabout intersection?

Here are 5 easy rules to remember about using a roundabout:

Take a peek at this quick tutorial on how to drive through roundabouts.

  1. Roundabouts

  1. Slow down when approaching and entering a roundabout.
  2. Yield to vehicles already in a roundabout and to anyone in the crosswalk.
  3. Use your turn signal immediately before your exit, just as you would when turning.
  4. Go right when entering in a roundabout and proceed around the central island in a counter-clockwise direction.
  5. Miss your exit? Just go around one more time