Wastewater Community Working Group

The Maui Wastewater Community Working Group (CWG) is working to provide enlightened, community-based recommendations to County of Maui’s Department of Environmental Management and Division of Wastewater Reclamation.  These recommendations will assist the County in making significant strides toward achieving the Counties goal of 100 percent recycling of Maui’s wastewater.
The CWG is made up of 21 members representing a broad range of constituencies on the island of Maui.

A Wastewater Treatment Plant Visit

Interests represented on the group include community associations, the environment, economic development, and agriculture, with participation from both private and public sectors.  

Monthly meetings of the CWG began in October 2009 and the process is expected to continue for one year.  Members of the public are welcome to attend CWG meetings.  Dates, times, and locations are provided on this site.

Contact Information

Contact the Department of Environmental Management at (808) 270-8230 or Email.

Agendas and Meeting Summaries

View available agendas and meeting summaries for the Wastewater Community Working Group. 

Name Association
Irene Bowie Maui Tomorrow Foundation
Dan Clegg Monsanto Company
Pam Daoust Ma`alaea Community Association
Joie Taylor Sustainable Living Institute of Maui
Bill Frampton Frampton & Ward, LLC
Howard Hanzawa Kaanapali Land Mgmt. Corp.
Robin Knox University of Hawaii
Don Lehman W. Maui Taxpayers Association
Jacob Mau Native Hawaiian Kupuna
J. Scott Meidell Haleakala Ranch
Iokepa Naeole Neighborhood Place of Wailuku 
Sean O'keefe Alexander & Baldwin
Jeff Pearson Maui Land & Pineapple Co.
Bob Pickering Kihei Community Association
Felimon Sadang Fisherman
Russell Sparks DLNR – Division of Aquatic Resources
Sharon Suzuki Maui Electric Co.
Warren Watanabe Maui County Farm Bureau
Leslie Wilkins Maui Economic Development Board, Inc.

Final Report
Click here to view the final report, attachments and additional information.

Contact Information
Supporting Department: Department of Environmental Management
Ph: (808) 270-8230
Fax: (808) 270-8234
Secondary Contact, Office of the Mayor: (808) 270-7855