County Charter

The County Charter establishes the structure and organization of the government of the County of Maui. It is a constitutional document which defines the responsibilities of our local government including the following areas:

  • Incorporation and Geographical Limits
  • Powers of the County
  • County Council
  • Ordinances and Resolutions
  • County Clerk
  • Executive Branch
  • Office of the Mayor
  • County Departments
  • Financial Procedures
  • Code of Ethics
  • Initiative
  • Recall
  • General Provisions
  • Charter Amendment
  • Transitional Provisions

At intervals of ten (10) years, the Mayor and the Council appoint a Charter Commission composed of eleven members to study and review the operation of the government of the County and propose amendments or draft a new Charter in the manner set forth in Section 14-3 of the Charter of the County of Maui.

Learn more about the the Maui Charter Commission.