Maui County Arborist Committee


The Maui County arborist committee which shall consist of nine members appointed and who may be removed by the Mayor with notice to, but without approval by, the County Council. The members shall be residents of the County with professional or other interest in landscape beautification.

There shall be six nonvoting, ex-officio members consisting of: the arborist, the plan reviewer, the Director of the Department of Parks and Recreation, the Director of the Department of Public Works, the Director of the Department of Planning, and the Director of Housing and Human Concerns or their respective designees.

The scope of the committee shall include recommendations for; a landscape planting plan in public areas throughout the county, shall be a reviewing body for any landscape planting in public parks and street beautification programs and shall recommend exceptional trees to be protected and provide appropriate protective ordinances.

Agendas, Minutes & Additional Resources

View available agendas and minutes for the Maui County Arborist Advisory Committee meetings.


  • Jake Musson (Makawao) 3/31/2023
  • Barbara Fernandez (Kula) 3/31/2025
  • John (Jack) Patnode (Kula) 3/31/2025
  • Karen Comcowich (Lahaina) 3/31/2026
  • Joseph Imhoff (Makawao) 3/31/2026
  • Roger (Alex) Clapp (Lahaina) 03/31/2027
  • Kenneth (Duane) Sparkman (Wailuku) 03/31/27

Additional Resources

Contact Information

Supporting Department: Department of Parks & Recreation
Phone: (808) 270-7230
Fax: (808) 270-7934
Secondary Contact, Office of the Mayor: (808) 270-7855