Public Works Commission


Maui County Ordinance #4078, enacted on November 1, 2013 consolidated the responsibilities of the Traffic Safety Council, Commission on Naming Streets Parks and Facilities, the Subdivision Engineering Standards Committee, and the Maui County Outdoor Lighting Standards Committee into one board called the Public Works Commission (PWC).

The Public Works Commission advises, assists, and makes recommendations to the Mayor, the Maui County Council, and the Director of Public Works on matters regarding traffic safety, the naming of streets, parks, and facilities, subdivision engineering standards and specifications, and outdoor lighting.

Agendas and Minutes

View Most Recent | View All | Subscribe to Email Notifications


  • Noah Walin - 3/31/2027
  • Joshua Berlien - 3/31/2026
  • Alberta de Jetley - 3/31/2026
  • Pelenatita Namoa-Hanusa - 3/31/2026
  • Derek Ono - 3/31/2026
  • Luana Kawa`a - 3/31/2024
  • Robert Johnson - 3/31/2023
  • Michael Silva - 3/31/2023


  • Joaquin Freitas, Jr.  03/31/2024
  • Stacy Otomo 03/31/2024
The Public Works commission shall consist of nine members and two alternates. All members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the County Council. No less than three members shall be registered professional engineers, one member who is knowledgeable in the Hawaiian language, one member who is a resident of Lanai and one member who is a resident of Molokai.

Contact Information

Supporting Department: Department of Public Works
Phone (808) 270-7845
Fax: (808) 270-7955