COVID-19 Transportation Related Information and Resources

State of Hawaii’s online Safe Travels system becomes mandatory effective Sept. 1

The State of Hawaii is implementing its new, mandatory online Safe Travels system, beginning Sept. 1. The Safe Travels System will modify the current County of Maui application process.

Safe Travels is one part of a multi-layered screening process which includes arrival temperature checks, and secondary screening for those with symptoms or temperatures of 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit or higher. Travelers are encouraged to enter their information and trip details well in advance of their flight. Once their health information is entered within 24 hours of departure, travelers will receive a QR code via email. The QR code on their mobile device or printed on paper gets scanned by the airport screener upon arrival. 

All air travelers need to fill out the online Safe Travels application at, regardless of whether they are seeking a limited quarantine. Travelers between Lahaina and Manele harbors will continue to use paper mandatory travel form.

Travelers to Maui County airports are reminded that they must submit applications for limited travel quarantine online at by clicking on the “request for limited quarantine form” icon. Requests should be completed at least 3 days prior to the requestor’s departure.

For those applying for a Limited Quarantine Exemption, the application should be completed BEFORE submitting the separate online Safe Travels application. The new state form has a field to input a traveler’s limited quarantine application number. This is provided to a traveler after applying for it online.

Safe Travels Hawaii Form Opens in new window

Paper Travel Form Opens in new windowIMPORTANT NOTE:
To reduce the transmission of COVID-19 in Hawaii and avoid a strain on our health care system, Governor David Ige enacted a mandatory 14-day traveler quarantine and passenger verification process for those traveling to the Hawaiian Islands. Governor David Ige announced the partial reinstatement of the inter-island quarantine, effective Aug. 11, 2020. The 14-day quarantine requirement will apply to any person traveling to the counties of Kauai, Hawaii, Maui and Kalawao (Kalaupapa) as stated in the 11th supplementary emergency proclamation.  The inter-island quarantine continues through Aug. 31 unless it is terminated or extended by a separate proclamation.