Public Safety Commission

Charter Section 8-7.4. (Amended 1986) The Public Safety Commission shall consist of nine members appointed by the mayor with the approval of the council.

The Public Safety Commission shall:
  • Review the operations of the department of fire control and make recommendations for changes which may be desirable to improve the performance of emergency functions and the provision of public safety services
  • Receive and investigate any complaints brought forth by the public against the conduct of the department of fire control or any of its members and submit a written report of its findings and recommendations to the fire chief for his disposition
  • Adopt such rules as it may consider necessary for the conduct of its business and regulation of the matters committed to its charge by law
  • Have such other powers and duties as may be provided by law