Budget and Finance Committee

Budget and Finance Committee meetings are held in the Council Chamber at 9:00 AM on the Monday prior to the first and third Friday of each month; however, the schedule is subject to change. The Committee may also periodically schedule site inspections.

Agendas, Minutes, & Other Documents:
View available agendas for the Budget and Finance Committee.

Effective February 21, 2017, the following committee documents such as Items List, Committee Reports, and Minutes are available at www.mauicounty.us.  Committee meeting agendas are available on this page and at www.mauicounty.us.

Budget and Finance Committee duties include reviewing and considering:
    • Financial and performance audits.
    • Budget, capital program, bond authorizations, intergovernmental agreements with a financial impact on the annual budget, including intergovernmental loans, and the finance component of all county grants.
    • Taxes, rates, fees, and assessments for inclusion in the budget, except that revenue ordinances may also be considered by other standing committees.
    • Revisions and updates to real property tax ordinances.
    • Operations of the Department of Finance; the Department of Personnel Services, including salaries and collective bargaining cost items; and the Community Development Block Grant program.
    • Appointment of the County Auditor for a term as specified in the Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended; review and comment upon the annual Audit Plan issued by the Office of the County Auditor; and review of audit findings and recommendations set forth in written reports of the County Auditor.
Committee Staff:
Legislative Analyst, Michele Yoshimura
Legislative Analyst, Shelly Espeleta(Budget Session)
Committee Secretary, Yvette Bouthillier
Legislative Attorney, Traci Fujita

Subscribe To Notifications:
Budget & Finance Committee Agendas and Meeting Notices
Voting Members:
 Riki Hokama,
 Mike White,
 Alika Atay
 Robert Carroll
 Elle Cochran
 Stacy Crivello
 Don S. Guzman
 Kelly T. King
 Yuki Lei K. Sugimura
Contact Information:
Committee E-Mail
Phone: (808) 270-7838
Fax: (808) 270-7686