Planning and Sustainable Land Use Committee

Planning and Sustainable Land Use Committee meetings are held in the Council Chamber at 9:00 am on the Wednesday prior to the first and third Fridays of each month; however, the schedule is subject to change. The Committee may also periodically schedule site inspections.

Agendas, Minutes, and Other Documents:
Link to view available agendas, minutes for the Planning and Sustainable Land Use Committee.

Effective February 21, 2017, the following committee documents such as Items List and Committee Reports are available at Committee meeting agendas and minutes are available on this page and at

Planning and Sustainable Land Use Committee duties include reviewing and considering:
    • Project-specific amendments of State land use district boundaries, the General Plan, community plans, and zoning designations, except district boundary amendments specific to Chapter 201H, Hawaii Revised Statutes, projects.
    • Other land use entitlements requiring Council review and approval, such as Conditional Permits.
    • Land use ordinances not specific to a project, except amendments to the Parking Code.
    • Processing procedures for the General Plan and community plans.
    • Non-project-specific amendments to the General Plan and comprehensive community plan updates.
    • Appointments to community plan advisory committees.
    • Implementation of the digital mapping project.
    • Operations and performance audits of the Department of Planning and the Maui Emergency Management Agency, including the operational oversight of any grants they administer.
    • Implementation of the following General Plan objective: Promote Sustainable Land Use and Growth Management.

Committee Staff:
Legislative Analyst, James Krueger
Legislative Attorney, John Rapacz 
Committee Secretary, Clarita Balala
Legislative Attorney, Carla Nakata

Subscribe To Notifications:
Planning and Sustainable Land Use Committee Agendas and Meeting Notices

Voting Members:
Tamara Paltin,
Shane M. Sinenci
Kelly T. King
Alice L. Lee
Michael J. Molina
Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez
Yuki Lei K. Sugimura
Voting Members:
Riki Hokama
Tasha Kama

Contact Information:
Committee E-Mail
Ph: (808) 270-7838
Fax: (808) 270-7686