Healthy Families and Communities

Healthy Families and Communities Committee meetings are held in the Council Chamber at 1:30 pm on the Thursday prior to the first and third Fridays of each month; however, the schedule is subject to change. The Committee may also periodically schedule site inspections.

Agendas, Minutes, & Other Documents:
Link to view available agendas, minutes for the Healthy Families and Communities Committee.

Effective February 21, 2017, the following committee documents such as Items List and Committee Reports are available at Committee meeting agendas and minutes are available on this page and at


Planning Committee duties include reviewing and considering:
    • Social services and animal management programs and related grants, including grants of interests in real property.
    • Cultural, leisure, recreational, and parks matters.
    • Management and potential acquisition of public recreational lands, including parks, open space, natural and cultural resources, and scenic view preservation, including grants of such real property.
    • Authorization of concessions at and permits for events and activities conducted at Maui County's public parks and facilities.
    • Operations and performance audits of the Department of Parks and Recreation, and the Department of Housing and Human Concerns (except the Housing Division), including the operational oversight of any grants they administer.
    • Implementation of the following General Plan objectives:
      i. Improve Education.
      ii. Strengthen Social and Healthcare Services.
      iii. Improve Parks and Public Facilities.

Committee Staff:
Legislative Analyst, Wesley Crile
Committee Secretary, Rayna Yap
Supervising Legislative Attorney, David Raatz

Subscribe To Notifications:
Healthy Families and Communities Committee Agenda and Meeting Notices

Voting Members:
Riki Hokama,
Yuki Lei K. Sugimura,
Tasha Kama
Kelly T. King
Michael J. Molina
Tamara Paltin
Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Non-Voting Members:
Alice L. Lee
Shane M. Sinenci

Contact Information:
Committee E-Mail
Ph: (808) 270-7838
Fax: (808) 270-7686