Planning Committee

Planning Committee meetings are held in the Council Chamber at 9:00 am on the Thursday prior to the first and third Fridays of each month; however, the schedule is subject to change. The Committee may also periodically schedule site inspections.

Agendas, Minutes, & Other Documents:
View available agendas for the Planning Committee.

Effective February 21, 2017, the following committee documents such as Items List, Committee Reports, and Minutes are available at  Committee meeting agendas are available on this page and at

Planning Committee duties include reviewing and considering:
    • Processing procedures for the General Plan and community plans.
    • Revisions to and updates of the General Plan and community plans that are not specific to a project, including the Countywide Policy Plan, Maui Island Plan, and community plans.
    • Infrastructure impact fees based on long-range plans.
    • Implementation of the digital mapping project including review and adoption of digital land use maps by ordinance.
    • Operations of the Department of Planning, including the operational oversight of any grants it administers.

Committee Staff:
Legislative Attorney, Traci Fujita
Committee Secretary, Rayna Yap
Legislative Attorney, Carla Nakata

Subscribe To Notifications:
Planning Committee Agenda and Meeting Notices

Voting Members:
Kelly T King,
Yuki Lei K. Sugimura,
Elle Cochran
Stacy Crivello
Don S. Guzman
Riki Hokama
Mike White

Non-Voting Members:
Alika Atay
Robert Carroll

Contact Information:
Committee E-Mail
Ph: (808) 270-7838
Fax: (808) 270-7686