- Liquor Control
- Certification Exam
On every licensed premises, an on-duty employee approved by the director must be in active charge at all times that such premises is open for business.
The employee must:
- Be 21 years of age or older
- Have successfully completed an examination administered by the Department on Liquor Laws and Rules of the Commission
- Obtained an Employee Approved by the Director Card from the Department.
All employee approved by the Director cards are valid for four years from the date of issue and must be renewed by re-examination.
Liquor Control, Department ofPhysical Address
110 ‘Ala’ihi Street
Kahului, HI 96732
110 ‘Ala’ihi Street Room 212 Kahului HI 96732
Certification Exam (Online)
- Send a request email@example.com
- You will receive and email from eSkill Assessment Platform <firstname.lastname@example.org> with a link to take the online liquor certification exam.
- Please allow 1 hour to complete the training and exam.
- The Department of Liquor Control will email you from email@example.com with your online certification exam results.
- If you PASS the test, you will be notified to stop by the Department of Liquor Control, located at 110 Ala'ihi Street, Room 212, Kahului, the following week anytime Monday through Friday between 8:00 a.m. - 11 :00 a.m., to pay for and receive your certification card. Please be sure to bring your photo identification used during the training and exam, along with $20.00 (cash or check) to cover the costs of registration and certification card.
- If you FAIL the test, you will be notified to request for another appointment by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org to retake the training and exam.
Required material(s) when taking training and exam:
- Government-issued photo identification. Identification must be unexpired, unaltered and undamaged
Certification Exam (In-Person)
Department of Liquor Control, Kahului Service Center, 110 'Ala'ihi Street, Room 212
In-person exams are being offered for employees of liquor establishments who do not have access to the internet and are unable to take the liquor certification exam online.
The Department of Liquor Control will offer in-person certification exams on the following dates:
(Kahului Service Center Room 212)
|June 01, 2022||8:00 a.m. to 8:15 p.m.||Kahului Service Center, Room 207|
|July 06, 2022||8:00 a.m. to 8:15 a.m.||Kahului Service Center, Room 207|
|August 03, 2022||8:00 a.m. to 8:15 a.m.||Kahului Service Center, Room 207|
|September 07, 2022||8:00 a.m. to 8:15 a.m.||Kahului Service Center, Room 207|
Registration is on a first-come, first-served basis on the day of the exam. Seating is limited to the first 25 individuals.
- Be 21 years of age or older
- Government-issued photo I.D. (must be unexpired, unaltered, undamaged, and laminated)
- Bring two (2) sharpened pencils with an eraser to register and take the exam.
- The cost of the exam and card is $10.00 each. Payment is by check or cash only.
Rules of the Liquor Commission and Hawaii Revised Statute:
- Rules of the Liquor Commission Chapter 101 (revised August 2019)
- Rules of the Liquor Commission Chapter 102 (revised August 2019)
- Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 281 (revised July 2019)
Study material can also be obtained at the:
- Public Library
- Department of Liquor Control ($10 charge)
- Liquor-licensed employer