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Liquor establishments face 24-hour closures 
for failing to comply with Public Health Emergency Rules 

to limit spread of COVID-19 
 
Licensed liquor establishments that fail to comply with County of Maui 
Public Health Emergency Rules will be ordered to close for a 24-hour 
period in a measure aimed at minimizing the spread of COVID-19. 
 
“These Public Health Emergency Rules are in place to protect our residents 
from the spread of COVID-19,” Mayor Michael Victorino said. “I thank liquor 
establishments that are diligent about following required health and safety 
protocols. Other establishments are put on notice that the County of Maui is 
ready to close those that fail to comply. It is the responsibility of each 
establishment to know the rules and follow them for the health and safety of 
their employees, customers and our community.” 
 
Closures will be ordered by the Department of Liquor Control, with the 
assistance of the Maui Police Department during routine inspections or 
based on complaints. The closure will allow the licensed liquor 
establishment to come into compliance with the Public Health Emergency 
Rules. These include protocols that address sanitation, adequate physical 
distancing and the wearing of masks. 
 
For more information on requirements, see the Public Health Emergency 
Rules on the department’s website at 
https://www.mauicounty.gov/667/Liquor-Control under COVID-19 
Precautionary Measures. 
 
Liquor licensees that are not in compliance with the Public Health 
Emergency Rules will also be subject to penalties pursuant to the Liquor 
Laws of Hawaii, Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 281. Penalties for 
violations of these laws can include a reprimand, fine, suspension, and/or 
revocation of a liquor license. 
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