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PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY RULES, AMENDED OCTOBER 13, 2020 

 
The virus that causes Coronavirus 2019 Disease (“COVID-19”) is a novel 

severe acute respiratory illness with no known cure, no effective treatment, and 

no vaccine. The virus is easily transmitted, including by individuals who are 

infected but showing no symptoms. As of October 13, 2020, there were 

37,704,153 million cases and 1,079,029 deaths globally 

(https://covid19.who.int/). The United States has more than 7,787,548 million 

cases and 214,446 deaths (https://cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/cases-

updates/cases-in-us.html). To date, there are 13,514 cases and 169 deaths in 

the State of Hawaii, with 397 cases in Maui County 

(https://health.hawaii.gov/coronavirusdisease2019). 

On October 13, 2020, Governor David Y. Ige issued the Fourteenth 

Proclamation related to COVID-19, which extended the mandatory 14-day self-

quarantine for all persons entering the State of Hawaii.  Transpacific travelers 

who, as of October 15, 2020, provide written confirmation of a State-approved 

negative COVID-19 test are excepted from self-quarantine.  The Fourteenth 

Proclamation also extended the interisland quarantine for travelers to the 

counties of Maui, Kauai, Hawaii, and Kalawao.  These Rules are based on 
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evidence of COVID-19 within the County and State of Hawaii, as reported by the 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the State Department of 

Health (DOH), scientific evidence, and best practices regarding the most effective 

approaches to slow the transmission of communicable diseases generally and 

COVID-19 specifically. 

By the authority vested in me as Mayor of the County of Maui, by the 

Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended (“Charter”), the 

Constitution and laws of the State of Hawaii, I, MICHAEL P. VICTORINO, Mayor 

of the County of Maui of the State of Hawaii, hereby amend, adopt and 

promulgate the following rules, pursuant to Section 127A-25, Hawaii Revised 

Statutes (“HRS”), which have the force and effect of law.  Violation of any of the 

following rules is punishable as a misdemeanor, with fines of up to $5,000, a 

maximum of one year in jail, or both.   

I. Definitions 

A. Essential Activities include: 
 

1. Tasks essential to maintain health and safety, such as 
obtaining medicine or seeing a doctor. 

2. Getting necessary services or supplies for an individual, or that 
individual’s family or household members, such as getting food, 
pet food, and supplies necessary for staying at home. 

3. Engaging in outdoor activity, such as walking, hiking, running, 
ocean sports (surfing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, or 

fishing). 
4. Performing work related to operation of an essential business 

or essential government functions (defined below). 

5. Caring for a family member in another household. 
6. Caring for elderly, minors, dependents, persons with 

disabilities, or other vulnerable persons. 
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B. Operation of an Essential Business includes: 

1. Healthcare operations, including home health workers. 
2. Essential infrastructure, including operation of public 

transportation and utilities. 
3. Grocery stores, food banks, convenience stores, and farmer’s 

markets. 

4. Businesses that provide necessities of life for economically 
disadvantaged individuals and shelter facilities. 

5. Pharmacies, health care supply stores, and health care 
facilities. 

6. Gas stations, auto repair facilities, and auto supply stores. 

7. Financial institutions. 
8. Refuse collection. 

9. Hardware, lumber, and other building material stores. 
10. Maintenance service providers, such as plumbers, electricians, 

exterminators, yard or ground maintenance, and other service 

providers necessary to maintain the safety, sanitation, and 
essential operation of residences and businesses. 

11. Laundromats and laundry service providers. 

12. Businesses that primarily ship or deliver groceries, food, and 
goods. 

13. Preschool facilities (daycare, summer camp, etc.) operating in 
compliance with state laws, administrative rules, and 
restrictions, provided that children do not switch groups; 

groups are located in separate rooms and not commingled; 
caregivers are assigned and remain with one group of children. 

14. Newspapers, television, radio, and other media. 

15. Construction and maintenance, public and private, provided it 
is conducted in workplaces in a manner that ensures worker 

safety, including physical distancing requirements. 
16. Agricultural operations, including delivery and shipment of 

flowers, provided measures are implemented to ensure worker 

safety, including physical distancing requirements. 
17. Businesses that supply other essential businesses with the 

support or supplies necessary to operate, e.g., chemical supply 
companies. 

18. Businesses conducting legally mandated activities. 

19. Businesses that provide food, shelter, and other necessities of 
life for animals, including animal shelters, rescues, kennels, 
and adoption facilities. 

20. Funeral, mortuary, cremation, burial, cemetery, and related 
services. 

21. Educational institutions, including Kindergarten-12 grade, 
colleges, and universities. Private educational institutions shall 
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comply to the extent feasible with the State of Hawaii 

Department of Education’s practices and policies related to the 
COVID-19 health emergency.  

22. Hotels and motels, to the extent used for lodging, in compliance 

with the State of Hawaii restrictions. 
 

C. Designated Businesses and Operations, as described in Exhibit 
A. 

  
D. Government Functions:  Includes all services needed to ensure the 

continuing operation of the government agencies that provide for the 

health, safety, and welfare of the public. 
 

II. RULES 

Rule 1:  All individuals currently within the County are encouraged to 

stay at their residence or place of lodging, except as provided in these Rules.  

With respect to persons residing in hotels, condominiums, townhomes, 

apartments, or other multi-unit dwellings, “place of residence” means the 

person’s individual hotel room or unit. To the extent persons use shared or 

outdoor spaces (e.g., condominium common areas, pools, barbecue areas) when 

outside their residence, they must comply with Rule 5, as ordered by the State 

of Hawaii, or as instructed by the CDC, whichever is more stringent. 

Rule 2: County meetings or hearings, including contested case 

hearings, are suspended, provided that meetings or hearings may be held to the 

extent such meetings or hearings are conducted by telephone or video conference 

as determined solely by the County department providing administrative 

assistance to the board or commission. In addition to all County boards and 

commissions, this Rule applies to all proceedings that involve live testimony by 
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government employees or members of the public (i.e. arbitrations, depositions, 

hearings, etc.).  

 Rule 3:  Any County deadline or automatic approval of any permit 

application, unless specifically provided for by Mayor’s directive, or contested 

case matter under the Maui County Code or the administrative rule of any 

County department, board, or commission that  is  currently pending,  is hereby 

continued to the latter of the following:  60 days after the date of the County’s 

Proclamation of Emergency of Disaster, effective August 30, 2020, as may be 

extended; the Declaration of Termination of Emergency issued by the 

undersigned; or 60 days from the date of the current deadline or automatic 

approval as of the date of the adoption of these Rules.  This Rule applies only to 

deadlines for action imposed by ordinance or administrative rule on any County 

department, board, and commission. This Rule does not extend any permit 

condition of any existing permit that has already been approved.  This Rule does 

not extend the time for filing of an appeal for matters that have already been 

decided. 

Rule 4: Indoor or outdoor social gatherings of up to 10 persons are 

permitted.  Face coverings are required and physical distancing of at least 6 feet 

between separate social gatherings must be maintained. Gatherings of members 

of a single residential or family unit sharing the same address are not restricted. 

Rule 4 does not apply to essential or designated businesses and operations, 

pursuant to Sections I(B), I(C), and Exhibit A, that have supervision, monitoring, 

and other enforcement protocols in place or are otherwise subject to specific 
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rules or restrictions, e.g., the state and federal court systems, state and federal 

offices and functions, Department of Education, daycares, preschools, private 

schools, universities, and similar institutions. 

Rule 5: Persons shall comply with the following physical distancing 

and sanitation requirements:  

a. Face covering. Persons over the age of 5 years old must wear a face 
mask or covering while outside their place of residence (as defined in 

Rule 1).  The face mask or cloth must be worn while in all public spaces, 
including on public or shared transportation, unless specifically provided 

for otherwise in these rules.  
 
Unless otherwise provided by specific rule, employees must wear face 

masks or coverings when walking to and from common areas (hallways, 
bathrooms, stairwells, elevators), but may temporarily remove the face 
covering when at their desks or work station and not actively engaged 

with other employees, customers, or visitors, provided that the 
employee’s desk or workstation is not located in a common or shared 

area and physical distancing is maintained.  
 
A mask or other facial covering must cover the nose and mouth and must 

comply with the recommendations of the CDC, as such 
recommendations may change from time to time. The current CDC 
guidelines recommend wearing a mask or facial covering which snugly 

covers the face and mouth, whether store bought or homemade, which 
is secured with ties or ear loops, include multiple layers of fabric, allow 

for breathing without restriction, and which is able to be laundered and 
machine dried without damage or losing shape. Examples of compliant 
homemade masks and other facial coverings may be found 

at: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-
sick/diy-cloth-face-coverings.html. Persons should not utilize N95 rated 

masks, as those are critical supplies for health care workers, police, fire, 
emergency management, or other persons engaged in certain 
construction-related or life/safety activities. Persons wearing facial 

coverings should review the CDC and Hawaii Department of Health 
guidelines regarding safely applying, removing, and cleaning such 
coverings, which are found at: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/prevent-getting-sick/how-to-wear-cloth-face-coverings.html. 
 

Masks and other facial coverings shall not be required: 
1. at or inside a private residence; 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/diy-cloth-face-coverings.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/diy-cloth-face-coverings.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/how-to-wear-cloth-face-coverings.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/how-to-wear-cloth-face-coverings.html
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2. inside a private automobile, provided the only occupants are 

members of the same household or residence; 

3. inside a hotel, motel, or commercial lodging establishment guest 

room, or inside any apartment; 

4. of persons who cannot wear a mask or facial covering due to an 

existing medical condition; 

5. of an individual who is hearing impaired or an individual who is 

communicating with an individual who is hearing impaired; 

6. where federal or state safety or health regulations prohibit the 

wearing of facial coverings; 

7. of persons actively engaged in strenuous outdoor physical 

activity, provided adequate social distancing is both possible and 

practiced; 

8. of persons swimming or engaged in other activities that may 

cause the facial covering to become wet; 

9. while persons are actively eating, drinking, or smoking; and 

10. while a person is receiving services that require access to that 

person’s nose or mouth. 

 

Businesses or designated operations shall refuse to allow entry to 
persons not wearing face coverings, unless an exception applies under 

this section. Businesses not enforcing this rule may be subject to 
enforcement, including fines and mandatory closure. 

 

b. High risk populations. Elderly and others at high risk for Covid-19 are 

urged to stay in their residences to the extent possible, except to seek 
medical care. 

 

c. Persons who are sick. Persons who are sick, have a fever, cough, or 
who are exhibiting symptoms such as shortness of breath, difficulty 

breathing, chills, repeated shaking with chills, muscle pain, headache, 
sore throat, or new loss of taste or smell, are urged to stay in their 
residences to the extent possible, except to seek medical care. 

 
d. Six-foot distances. All persons shall maintain a minimum of six-feet 

of physical separation from all other persons to the fullest extent 

possible. Essential and designated businesses or operations shall 
designate with signage, tape, or other means, six-foot spacing for 

employees and customers waiting in line. Essential and designated 
businesses or operations shall monitor and enforce the six-foot 
distancing requirement, whether with outside waiting lines or as 

customers move about inside a facility. Stores with aisles shall use 
signage to indicate one-way access to the extent feasible. Checkout 
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operations shall be modified, to the extent reasonably feasible, to 

provide this separation or to provide a transparent shield or barrier 
between customers and checkout clerks. 

 

e. Limited occupancy. Each essential or designated business or 

operation shall determine and enforce the maximum number of 

persons that may be accommodated while maintaining the specified 

physical distance and limiting the number of individuals within a 

facility. 

 

f. Sanitation measures. Essential and designated businesses or 

operations shall make hand sanitizer and sanitizing products readily 

available for employees and customers. Employees handling items from 

customers, such as cash or credit cards, shall frequently utilize hand 

sanitizers. 

 

g. Disinfection. Essential and designated businesses or operations shall 
regularly disinfect all high-touch surfaces. A list of disinfectants that 
meet the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s criteria for use 

against Covid-19 is available at https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-
registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2-covid-19.  

 

h. Safeguards for high-risk populations. Essential businesses shall 
implement processes to safeguard elderly and high-risk customers, 

such as exclusive shopping hours, which shall be conspicuously posted 
and enforced. 

 

i. Pickup at store or delivery.  To the extent feasible, essential and 
designated businesses or operations shall provide for online ordering 
and purchase of goods, delivery, and customer pickup of orders outside 

the facility. 
 

j. Signage. Essential and designated businesses or operations shall post 
a sign at the entrance of the facility informing employees and customers 
that they shall, at a minimum: wear CDC recommended face coverings 

while in the business or operation; avoid entering the business if they 
have a cough or fever or otherwise do not feel well; maintain a six-foot 

distance from one another; do not shake hands. 
 

Rule 6: Exhibit A details specific requirements for certain businesses 

and activities, e.g., restaurants, bars, cafes, and other food establishments; 

salons, estheticians, massage, and body work; and sports. 
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Rule 7:  Nightclubs and concert halls are ordered closed until notified 

otherwise, provided that such businesses may conduct “minimum basic 

operations.”  Minimum basic operations do not include in-person 

public/customer interactions and are limited to the minimum activities 

necessary to maintain the value of the business’s inventory, ensure security, and 

process payroll and employee benefits. 

Rule 8: Beaches and County parks are open; however, the County 

may close parks for maintenance or repairs, to address safety concerns, or for 

COVID-related response.  Waiale Park shall remain closed to accommodate the 

provision of temporary emergency shelters.  County parks and beach parks will 

be open from 7:00 a.m. through 7:00 p.m., except that outdoor County courts 

(e.g., tennis, basketball, etc.) may remain open until 8:00 p.m.  Only permitted 

commercial activities are allowed. No tents or beach umbrellas that measure 

more than six feet across the canopy, party bouncers (bouncing castles, etc.), 

water or other slides will be allowed at any beaches or County parks.  Grills may 

not be used at any beach or County park.  Persons at any County park must 

comply with Rule 5. 

Rule 9: Repealed. 

Rule 10: Liquor Control Officers (“LCOs”) shall have the authority to 

enforce emergency rules at any establishment licensed to sell alcohol pursuant 

to Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 281.  An establishment that is not in 

compliance with these rules, including those listed in Exhibit “A”, attached 

hereto, shall be subject to immediate closure for a twenty-four hour (24) period 

effected by the Maui Police Department and/or LCO.  Liquor licensees not in 
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compliance with the requirements of these rules shall also be subject to penalties 

enforceable pursuant to the Liquor Laws of Hawaii, Hawaii Revised Statutes 

Chapter 281, which may include a reprimand, fine, suspension, and/or 

revocation of the liquor license. 

Rule 11: Mandatory quarantine and quarantine lodging. 

a. Health Screening and Quarantine.  Unless excepted under Rule 12, 

all persons traveling to the County of Maui, whether interisland or from 

out of state, shall be subject to health screening pursuant to Exhibit B 

of Governor Ige’s Fourteenth Proclamation and mandatory self-

quarantine.  The period of self-quarantine shall begin on the date of 

entry into the County of Maui and shall last 14 days or the duration of 

the person’s presence in the County, whichever is shorter. A person 

subject to quarantine may only break quarantine to seek medical 

attention, or as otherwise allowed under a limited quarantine 

exemption approved by the State or County.  

b. Quarantine Lodging.  Pursuant to Governor Ige’s Fourteenth 

Emergency Proclamation, persons who have not been approved for 

limited quarantine by the State or County and who require paid or 

commercial lodging while subject to the mandatory 14-day quarantine 

shall designate a hotel or motel on the County’s approved list as their 

quarantine location.  Short-term rental homes (STRH), bed and 

breakfast (B&B) homes, or other types of transient vacation rentals 

(TVR), as defined in the Maui County Code may be designated as a 

quarantine location for a new or “intended” Hawaii resident, provided 

that the full 14-day quarantine is served and not stopped early.  No 

STRH, B&B, or TVR may be designated as a quarantine location for a 

new or “intended” Hawaii resident more than once in any six-month 

period.   

STRH, B&B, and TRV may provide lodging for persons performing 

critical infrastructure (“CISA”) functions, as described in Exhibit B to 
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the Twelfth Proclamation and Section III.A of the Fourteenth 

Proclamation, who have been issued a limited quarantine exemption by 

the State or County, provided quarantine restrictions are followed.  The 

property owner, manager, agent, landlord, tenant, and guest shall each 

be responsible for ensuring, and documenting, compliance with this 

Rule.  Documentation shall be provided to the County, at the County’s 

request.  Failure to provide such documentation within the time 

specified in the request shall be deemed a violation of this rule.   

Rule 12: Requests for Limited Quarantine and Quarantine 

Exemptions. 

a. Requests for Limited Quarantine.  A quarantine exemption request 

must be made at www.mauicounty.gov.  Requestors must timely supply 

all required documentation. 

b. CISA Limited Quarantine Exemption.  Persons who travel into Maui 

County solely to conduct critical infrastructure (“CISA”) functions, as 

identified in Exhibit B to the Governor’s Twelfth Proclamation and 

Section III.A of the Governor’s Fourteenth Proclamation, may be 

approved for a limited “home-to-work” quarantine exemption. If a 

limited exemption is granted by the County, such person may go to and 

from work only and shall be subject to all quarantine restrictions when 

not performing their critical infrastructure work or engaging in the 

activity expressly exempted. 

c. Maui County Travel.  Persons not subject to any quarantine who travel 

solely within the islands of Maui County will not be subject to 

quarantine or pre-travel COVID-19 testing when traveling within Maui 

County.  These persons do not need to apply for a quarantine 

exemption, but must present their flight itinerary to screeners on 

arrival. This exemption does not apply if any portion of the travel is 

outside Maui County, including connecting flights through Oahu, or if 

the person has traveled outside the State of Hawaii in the past 14 days. 

http://www.mauicounty.gov/


October 13, 2020 
Page 12 

 
d. Medical Travel.  Persons not subject to any quarantine who travel 

outside Maui County solely for medical purposes, providing the travel 

is same day or overnight only, will not be subject to quarantine or pre-

travel COVID-19 testing upon their return to Maui County. These 

persons do not need to apply for a quarantine exemption, but must 

present their flight itinerary and doctor’s letter with date of 

appointment clearly indicated to screeners on arrival. If the medical 

traveler requires a travel companion, this person must be specifically 

named in the doctor’s letter. This exemption does not apply if the travel 

involves any non-medical related purposes. 

e. Negative COVID-19 Test – Pre-arrival.  Interisland and transpacific 

travelers age five and older who provide written confirmation of a 

negative test result from an approved COVID-19 test administered to 

the traveler within 72 hours from the last leg of departure prior to 

arrival into Maui County, are exempt from quarantine. Children under 

the age of five traveling with parents or guardians who have negative 

COVID-19 test results are exempt from quarantine. 

“Approved COVID-19 test” means a test to determine the presence 

of active COVID-19 infection that has been approved for use by the 

DOH. Currently approved is the processing by laboratories that are 

licensed or certified by Clinical Laboratories Improvement Amendments 

(CLIA) of specimens for nucleic acid amplification testing approved or 

authorized by the United States Food and Drug Administration, 

pursuant to an Emergency Use Authorization or other authorization for 

COVID-19 testing. For information on COVID-19 testing, visit 

https://www.fda.gov/consumers/consumer-updates/coronavirus-

testing-basics.  

Interisland and transpacific travelers who can provide proof of 

submission but whose negative test results for COVID-19 are not 

available at the time of arrival, must quarantine pursuant to Rule 11 

https://www.fda.gov/consumers/consumer-updates/coronavirus-testing-basics
https://www.fda.gov/consumers/consumer-updates/coronavirus-testing-basics
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at their place of lodging, but may thereafter submit their negative test 

result to the State by uploading such verification to 

www.travel.hawaii.gov. 

Only upon receipt of written acceptance of the negative test result 

will the traveler no longer be subject to the mandatory self-quarantine. 

Persons who require paid or commercial lodging while awaiting the 

negative test result, upon providing proof of such testing uploaded to 

www.travel.hawaii.gov, may designate a hotel, motel, STRH, B&B, or 

TVR as their place of quarantine. The host of any person subject to 

mandatory self-quarantine are subject to all provisions of these Rules 

and the Governor’s proclamation. In the event a positive test result is 

received, the traveler must immediately report such result to the Maui 

District Health Office of the DOH and may need to remain at the 

quarantine property or as otherwise directed by the DOH. 

f. Costs.  Persons shall bear all costs related to their pre-travel testing, 

and any subsequent costs related to their COVID-19 status, including, 

but not limited to, monitoring, lodging, potential isolation, and any 

associated care. 

 

  

http://www.travel.hawaii.gov/
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These rules shall take effect on October 15, 2020 at 12:01 a.m., unless
otherwise specified, and repeal the Emergency Rules promulgated October 1,
2020. With the exception of Rule 3, these Rules shall be repealed upon the
earlier of: 1) subsequent promulgation or 2) termination of the Proclamation of
Emergency for Maui County.

iihJ?
MICHAEL P. VICTORINO
Mayor
County of Maui
October 13, 2020

APPROVED:

MOANA M. LUTEY
Corporation Counsel
County of Maui

REVIEWED ON BEHALF OF GOVERNOR DAVID Y. KJE BY:

Print Name:
Title:
Date:

David Y. Ige
Governor, State of Hawaiʻi
October 14, 2020

https://stateofhawaii.na1.echosign.com/verifier?tx=CBJCHBCAABAA0GBSIkdVBH_6MSSAMvB5T033jMdqH-Qd
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EXHIBIT “A” 

 
RULES FOR  

DESIGNATED BUSINESSES AND OPERATIONS 

  
1. Businesses may request reconfiguration of the customer usage area, such 

as expansion of table seating or merchandise display into a business’s 

parking lot, in order to provide for adequate physical distancing, by letter 
to the Mayor’s Office. Such reconfiguration shall not exceed the scope of 

the use pre-Covid. 
2. Golf courses, provided they follow restrictions/guidance by the PGA.  
3. Bowling alleys, provided they follow restrictions/guidance by the United 

States Bowling Congress or similar entity. 
4. Safety inspection stations. 

5. Auto dealerships, including showrooms. 
6. Retail and repair services that do not involve physical contact. 
7. Photographers and photo studios. 

8. Food courts. See Restaurants, below, for operating restrictions that shall 
also apply to food courts. 

9. Condominium or apartment common areas. 

10. Automated service providers that do not require human interaction 
between the service provider and the customer, including, but not limited 

to, fully automated car washes. 
11. Mobile service providers that provide services on a mobile basis in which 

no human interaction between the service provider and the customer, 

including, but not limited to, mobile pet grooming and car 
washing/detailing businesses. 

12. Music instruction should follow the National Federation of State High 

School Associations and National Association of Music Education’s Fall 
2020 Guidance for Music Education, available at 
https://www.nfhs.org/media/3812373/nafme_nfhs-guidance-for-fall-2020-review-june-19-

2020-final.pdf, to the extent feasible. 

13. Choirs with musicians are permitted to rehearse and perform, on condition 

that each member is spaced a minimum of 10 feet away from each other 
and in compliance with proper sanitation of all equipment, chairs, and 

high touch areas.  Masks will not be required of singers during rehearsal 
or performance. 

14. Musical performances. No more than 10 musicians on stage, six-foot 

distance between musicians, and a minimum of ten feet between the stage 
and audience. No dance floor or other area where audience members may 
congregate shall be allowed. Seating should follow restaurant guidelines, 

or for stadium type seating, physical distancing described in Rule 5 is 
required (maximum number of occupants, distancing between groups). 

15. In-person spiritual services may be conducted provided all of the following 
are implemented: 

https://www.nfhs.org/media/3812373/nafme_nfhs-guidance-for-fall-2020-review-june-19-2020-final.pdf
https://www.nfhs.org/media/3812373/nafme_nfhs-guidance-for-fall-2020-review-june-19-2020-final.pdf
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a. All persons present at the service must maintain six (6) feet of 

physical distance between others, except members of the same 
household or living unit.  Organizers are should limit the number of 
persons attending in-person spiritual services to ensure this 

physical distancing requirement is met.   
b. Organizers and employees are strongly encouraged to develop and 

implement appropriate COVID-19 mitigation plans and procedures 

for their respective in-person services, which must include, but are 
not limited to, addressing the following issues: 

i. Usage of face coverings as detailed in Rule 5(A). 
ii. Safeguards for higher risk populations consistent with CDC 

guidance, available at 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/faq.html#Higher-Risk. 

iii. Persons who are sick. 
iv. Personal hygiene. 
v. Usage of hand sanitizer and sanitizing products. 

vi. Cleaning and disinfection. 
vii. Online and remote access and/or drive-in services. 
viii. Signage. 

ix. Limiting community sharing of worship materials and other 
frequently touched items. 

x. Projection of hymns and verses, when possible. 
c. Organizers and employees of in-person spiritual services must follow 

to the greatest extent possible current COVID-19 related County 

guidelines, State of Hawaii guidelines, CDC guidelines (available at 
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/community/organizations/index.html). 

 
16. Drive-in spiritual, and non-spiritual, services or events (such as drive-in 

movies) provided: 
a. Persons attending services must drive up in an enclosed vehicle and 

remain in that same vehicle during the entire event.  Sitting in the 

bed of an open-air pickup truck is allowed. 
b. Vehicle windows, sunroofs, and convertible tops must remain closed 

during the entire service, unless the vehicle is parked more than six 
(6) feet away from any other vehicle.  

c. Persons within the same vehicle must wear face coverings as 

provided in Rule 5, unless the vehicle is occupied only by members 
of the same household or living unit.  

d. Organizers and all participants must follow current County Rules, 

State, and CDC guidelines.  
e. Organizers, observing physical distancing, should be present to 

ensure proper spacing between vehicles and the orderly compliance 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/faq.html#Higher-Risk
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/faq.html#Higher-Risk
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/index.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/index.html
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of all guidelines.  Organizers should not interact with vehicle 

occupants beyond requesting their compliance with all guidelines. 
f. Organizers should use cashless or other non-contact methods for 

monetary transactions, including collections.  

g. Presentations may be conducted by radio transmitters, or streamed 
over the internet. 
 

17. Restaurants, bars, food courts, commercial events such as luau and 

weddings, and other food establishments in the County shall comply with 
the following requirements: 
a. General.  

i. Compliance with Physical Distancing Requirements in Rule 5.  
ii. Compliance with all regulatory guidelines. 
iii. Development, posting, and implementation of written 

protocols (“COVID-19 Mitigation Plan”) consistent with 
County, State, industry-specific associations or organizations, 

and CDC guidance to mitigate the spread of COVID-19 
including, but not limited to the following: 

1. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/downloads/community/restaurants-and-bars-

decision-tree.pdf 

2. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/community/organizations/business-

employers/bars-restaurants.html 

3. https://www.oneoahu.org/business-guidance  

 
b. Operations. 

i. Face coverings (as defined in Rule 5).  
1. Employees must wear face coverings. 

2. Customers - Customers must wear face coverings when 
entering and leaving the restaurant facility, but may 
remove the face coverings while seated.  

ii. Seating is arranged so that six (6) feet of separation is 
maintained between tables.  

iii. Condiments shall be by request in single-use disposable 
packets, or reusable condiment containers that are sanitized 
between parties.  

iv. Condiments, silverware, flatware, glasses, or other traditional 
table top items must not be left on an unoccupied table. 

v. Tables and chairs must be fully sanitized after each group (or 

individual customer) leaves the restaurant.  
vi. Disposable foodware and utensils should be used when 

available. When non-disposable foodware or utensils are used, 
they must be sanitized after each use consistent with DOH 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/downloads/community/restaurants-and-bars-decision-tree.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/downloads/community/restaurants-and-bars-decision-tree.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/downloads/community/restaurants-and-bars-decision-tree.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/business-employers/bars-restaurants.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/business-employers/bars-restaurants.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/business-employers/bars-restaurants.html
https://www.oneoahu.org/business-guidance
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guidance and regulations, and “best practices” of the FDA 

(available here: https://www.fda.gov/food/food-safety-
during-emergencies/best-practices-re-opening-retail-food-
establishments-during-covid-19-pandemic), as updated or 

superseded.  
vii. Provide disposable menus or menu board, or sanitize reusable 

menus after each use.  

viii. Hourly touch-point sanitization (workstations, equipment, 
screens, door knobs, restrooms, etc.) required.  

ix. Valet services are prohibited, except for vehicles with placards 
or plates for disabled parking. 

x. Buffets, salad bars, and other types of self-service of food or 

beverages are not allowed.   
xi. For restaurants that accept reservations, entry into the 

restaurant is on a reservation only basis, and parties must 
wait in their vehicle until called into the restaurant. 

xii. No dancing or singing by customers (no karaoke). 

xiii. Music performance allowed (see No. 13, above). 
 

c. Hygiene.  

i. Employer must provide hand washing capability or sanitizer 
for employees and customers.  

ii. An adequate supply of soap, disinfectant, hand sanitizer, and 
paper towels must be available at all times.  

iii. Frequent hand washing by employees, especially between 

interactions with customers.  
 

d. Staffing.  

i. Provide training for employees regarding these requirements.  
ii. Conduct pre-shift screening, and maintain a staff screening 

log.  
iii. No employee displaying symptoms of COVID-19 should 

provide services to customers. Symptomatic or ill employees 

should not report to work.  
iv. No person should work within 72 hours of exhibiting a fever 

or other COVID-19 symptoms, and follow the CDC’s “What To 
Do If You Are Sick” guidance, available at 
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-

sick/steps-when-sick.html.  
v. Employer must establish a plan for employees getting ill and 

a return-to-work plan following CDC guidance, which can be 

found online at: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/community/guidance-business-response.html.  
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e. Cleaning and Disinfecting.  

i. Cleaning and disinfecting must be conducted in compliance 
with CDC guidance.  

ii. When an active employee is identified as being COVID-19 

positive by testing, cleaning, and disinfecting must be 
performed as soon after the confirmation of a positive test as 
practical consistent with CDC guidance.  

iii. CDC guidance can be found online at: 
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html  
 

f. Specific requirements for bars: 

i. Limit occupancy to no more than fifty percent (50%) of the 

maximum occupant load of the bar. 

ii. Limit groups within the bar to a maximum of ten (10) 

individuals per group. 

iii. Ensure groups within the bar maintain at least six (6) feet of 

separation from other groups. 

iv. Prohibit groups within the bar from intermingling. 

v. Designate areas to separate groups at least six (6) feet apart 

from each other.  (E.g., through ropes or other physical 

separation for standing areas, or the seating of guests at 

separate tables, or both). 

vi. Ensure individuals in different groups maintain a minimum 

of six (6) feet of physical distance from each other to the 

greatest extent possible. 

vii. Require all employees to wear face coverings. 

viii. Ensure all customers wear face coverings when entering and 

leaving the bar, but allow customers to remove the face 

covering while in the bar. 

g. Encouraged practices:  
i. Have customers enter and exit through different entries using 

one-way traffic, where possible.  
ii. Start or continue entryway, curbside, and home delivery.  
iii. Encourage making reservations, preordering for dine-in 

service, and ordering for contactless pickup and delivery 
either by telephone or other remote means.  

iv. If meals are provided to employees, employers are 
recommended to have the meal individually packaged for each 
employee. 

v. Implement cashless and receiptless transactions. 
 h.  Any exceptions to these provisions for special events must be 

approved by the County of Maui. 
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18. Close-contact personal services, such as hair and nail salons, tattoo 
parlors, estheticians, and massage, may conduct business, provided 
operators are in compliance with State law and administrative rules. 

a. Hygiene 
i. Employees are required to wash hands immediately, upon 

entry, and prior to and following each service and break.  

ii. All employees will be required to wear a CDC-recommended 
face mask whether servicing clients or not. Technicians may 

utilize plexiglass shields between employee and client. 
iii. Patrons must come alone without guests, except where the 

patron requires the assistance of another adult; minors 

receiving services are allowed one accompanying adult.   
iv. All patrons must wear a mask or cloth face covering pursuant 

to Rule 5, unless receiving treatment that specifically involves 
the face or head (e.g., facials, shaving, trimming around the 
ears). 

v. Patrons must wait outside for appointments, either in cars, or 
in lines allowing for 6 feet of separation. 

vi. Patrons will be asked to remain seated in designated 

workstation/chair until otherwise necessary or for an 
emergency. 

vii. Patrons must use hand sanitizer and or wash hands 
immediately upon entry. 

 

b. Monitoring and screening workers and clients 
i. Employees who are sick must stay home. 
ii. Shop owner/managers must provide training, educational 

materials, and enforcement of proper sanitation and all 
applicable rules. 

iii. Businesses must keep detailed daily logs of their daily 
business, including who came in, on what day and time, 
contact information, and service provider.   

iv. Employees must be temperature screened upon arrival. Any 
employee with a temperature of 99 degrees or higher must be 

immediately sent home. 
v. Each employee and client must be asked the following intake 

questions daily/at scheduling of the appointment, and upon 

check-in for appointments (via cell phone, prior to physical 
entry into the salon). If any of the answers to the below is 
“yes,” the employee is not allowed to work and customers may 

not receive services. 
1. Do you now, or have you had in the past 14 days: 

a. a cough or sore throat? 
b. fever or do you feel feverish? 
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c. shortness of breath? 

d. loss of taste or smell? 
2. Have you been around anyone with these symptoms in 

the last 14 days 

3. Have you been out of state in the last 14 days? 
 

c. Environment 

i. Service providers to client ratio will be 1:1. 
ii. Services on appointment basis only; no walk-ins. 

Appointment scheduling must allow for adequate sanitation 
between appointments. 

iii. Prior to opening and at the end of each day (at a minimum), 

the facility, including break room and bathroom, must be 
thoroughly cleaned and sanitized to CDC workplace guidance. 

iv. Frequent daily cleaning of all high-touch surfaces. 
v. No magazines, toys, coffee machines, or other common area 

offerings allowed. 

vi. Workstations must be spaced to enforce physical distancing 
practices of 6 feet between clients. Businesses should 
consider divider shields and alternative work schedules. 

Workstations must be disinfected at the start and end of each 
shift, and in between each client. 

vii. Capes/smocks and towels must be single-use, either 
disposable or washed/dried and use for only one customer. 
Used items must be kept in an airtight container and 

laundered in hot, soapy water and dried at high temperature. 
viii. Contactless payment should be used whenever possible; 

credit card terminals must be wiped after each use. 

Customers must remain seated until called for checkout; one 
customer at a time. No cash payments; no tip jars. 

ix. EPA-approved disinfectant or disinfecting techniques must be 
used for technical implements and work areas. 

 

d. Nail salons/services 
i. Pedicure bowls must be disassembled and disinfected daily; 

for bowls with jets, they must run a minimum of 10 minutes 
with disinfection. 

ii. Manicurists are encouraged have plexiglass or similar shields 

between technician and client. 
 
19. Canoe paddling. Six-person (single hull/OC-6) or 12-person (double 

hull/OC-12) canoe paddling will be allowed with the following conditions: 

a. Only official members of a canoe club shall participate in OC-6 or 
OC-12 practices, in compliance with the restrictions on Outdoor 

Sports, Phase 1, as reasonably practicable, and these paddling-
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specific restrictions. Recreational practices for non-members, 

guests, visitors, or drop-ins shall not be allowed.  
b. To the extent possible, members of a canoe club wishing to paddle 

should register with their respective club for each paddling session 

for contact tracing purposes.  Canoe clubs shall maintain the record 
of each paddling session for at least one month from the date of 
activity.  

c. Canoe clubs are encouraged to create “crew bubbles,” such that 
when crews are established, paddlers stay within their assigned 

crew to limit potential exposure to other club members.  
d. Participation is voluntary.  Individuals who are sick, exhibiting any 

symptoms, or have been exposed to anyone who is ill, COVID-19 

positive, shall not be allowed to participate for 14 days from the date 
of exposure or the cessation of symptoms, or as otherwise approved 

by a healthcare professional. Persons subject to quarantine, and 
persons residing within the same household as a person subject to 
quarantine, shall not participate.    

e. To the extent possible, paddlers should continue paddling with the 
same crew members and not switch crews.   

f. Water or shoreline changes between crew members during a 

paddling session should not be allowed (must stay in the same seat 
assigned), unless done so for safety or health purposes.    

g. Coaches must follow the restrictions in Outdoor Sports, Phase 1.  
Workouts or plans for paddling sessions should be shared with 
participants electronically or on bulletin boards prior to the activity. 

Coaching should be limited to one crew at a time.   
h. To the extent possible, paddling activities should be time staggered 

between crews to avoid large gatherings, and crews must remain 

physically separated.    
i. To the extent possible, club paddles should be assigned to 

individuals during this period, or individuals should bring their own 
ancillary equipment and supplies.  Sharing of personal paddles, seat 
cushions, gloves, personal care products, water bottles / hydration 

systems and other similar items are prohibited.   
j. Canoe club facilities or hales may be used for non-essential events 

or other social gatherings, in compliance with limitations on groups 
in Rule 4.   

k. Paddlers should follow proper hygiene protocols, including washing 

hands or using hand sanitizer before and after participating.  Gloves 
and masks are encouraged, but not required. Canoe clubs shall 
make soap and/or hand sanitizer available for participants.  

l. All touch points should be disinfected before each use, including 
iakos, manus, seats, gunnels, bailers, and other similar items.  

Canoes and other equipment are recommended, but not required, to 
be left out in the sun and ambient temperature in between uses.    



October 13, 2020 
Page 23 

 
m. To the extent possible, when launching or concluding activities, 

canoe clubs should utilize wheels or other mechanical assistance to 
move the canoes, and avoid contact between paddlers.   

n. To the extent possible, wheels should be left under the canoes when 

not in use, and when concluding activities wheels should be placed 
under the canoe while still in the water.   

  

19. Commercial and recreational boating will be allowed, subject to all County 
 or State regulations, including any specific operational restrictions 

 imposed by the State of Hawaii Department of Land and Natural 
 Resources, and the following conditions: 
 a. Larger boats with a Coast Guard-rated capacity of more than 10,  

  may allow not more than 50% of the rated capacity individuals  
  allowed on the boat, including the boat crew. 

 b. Sanitation rules detailed in Rule 5 are followed.  
  
20. Outdoor organized sports (phase 1).  This section applies to outdoor 

organized sports such as baseball, soccer, outdoor volleyball, surfing, 
swimming, and similar outdoor sports (“Sports Program(s)”).  Starting 
June 15, 2020, Sports Programs may reopen for skill-building drills and 

team-based practice, but not competitive play (“Phase 1”) under the 
following requirements and conditions: 

a. Activities are limited to skill-building drills and team-based practice 
in which physical distancing of six (6) feet or more between 
participants may generally be maintained.   

 

b. No close contact activities, including, but not limited to, huddles, 

high fives, and handshakes. 
 

c. Groups are limited to a single Sports Program team, or a maximum 
of 30 participants, including players and coaches, whichever is less.  

(This is an exception to the general rule restricting groups to 10 or 
less contained in Rule 4). Where multiple groups are present at a 
facility or field, Sports Program operators must implement measures 

to ensure that groups maintain six (6) feet of physical distance 
between each other at all times (i.e., no mingling between groups).   

 

d. To the greatest extent reasonably practicable, physical distancing of 

at least six (6) feet between members of different households/living 
units should be maintained; and face coverings should be worn at 
all times unless engaged in active practice. 

 

e. Sports Program operators must implement measures to ensure that: 
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i. To the extent consistent with this section, and to the extent 

reasonably practicable: (1) the Sports Program operators and 
participants shall follow applicable guidance from the CDC 
(available at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/community/organizations/businesses-
employers.html); and (2) established and reputable COVID-
19-related guidelines for the facility and the activity at issue. 

ii. Physical distancing protocols and procedures exist for staff, 
athletes and non-program participants (including 

parents/guardians), with special consideration for the type of 
athletic activities engaged in, entrances and exits, queues, 
bottlenecks, facility layouts, and safe capacity limits. 

iii. Staff and athletes are screened (via self-screening or 
otherwise) regularly for illness or exposure to COVID-19. 

iv. Staff, athletes, and non-program participants (including 
parents/guardians) always wear face coverings when 
spectating, arriving, and leaving. The presence of non-

participants should be discouraged during Phase 1. 
v. There is no socializing in groups before or after (unless 

otherwise authorized by these Rules). 

vi. Individuals from outside the Sports Program are limited in 
their interactions with staff and participants during drop off/ 

pick up.  
vii. Athletes who are sick from COVID-19 may not attend a 

practice or training until they are cleared for release from 

isolation according to CDC guidelines and cleared to return 
by a healthcare provider. 

viii. Any staff or athlete exposed to a person with a confirmed or 

probable case of COVID-19 may not attend the program until 
they have completed quarantine following CDC guidelines.  

ix. All program activities are evaluated to identify and mitigate 
“high-risk” activities (shared equipment, incidental close 
contact, etc.) to reduce or prevent COVID-19 transmission. 

 

f. Individuals must comply with any requirements imposed by the 

Department of Parks and Recreation. 
 

g. Nothing in this section requires a public or private Sports Program 
to open. 

 

21.  Competitive play for outdoor Sports Programs.  Excluded from this section 

are outdoor sports and similar activities that require sustained close 
contact, such as outdoor wrestling, boxing, and mixed martial arts.  These 
close contact sports may continue under Phase 1 (above).  Sports 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html
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Programs may conduct competitive play under the following requirements 

and conditions: 
 

a. Activities may include competitive team play (e.g., one baseball team 

against another, or one soccer team against another), ocean-related 
competitions, or training.  (This is an exception to the general rule 
on groups of 10 persons or less contained in Rule 4).    

 

b. When not engaged in competitive team play or training that requires 
close contact, close contact should be reduced or eliminated to the 
extent possible (e.g., sitting close to teammates on a bench, standing 

close to teammates or opponents during downtime).   
 

c. No close contact activities outside of those necessary to carry out 
the competitive team play or training, including, but not limited to, 
huddles, high fives, and handshakes. 

 

d. No more than two Sports Program teams may compete against each 
other on an outdoor field, court, etc. at a time.  Each Sports Program 
team is limited to a maximum of 30 participants, including players 

and coaches.  Where other competitive play/games are scheduled 
on the same field, court, etc., Sports Program operators must 
implement measures to ensure that teams waiting to play maintain 

six (6) feet of physical distance from the other teams playing at all 
times (i.e., no mingling between groups).   

 

e. To the greatest extent reasonably practicable, physical distancing of 

at least six (6) feet between members of different households/living 
units should be maintained; and face coverings should be worn at 
all times unless engaged in active play. 

 

f. No more than 100 people should be present at any competitive play 

event allowed under this section, including any participants and 
coaches from sports program teams.   

 

g. Sports Program Operators must work with the Department of Parks 

and Recreation and implement measures to ensure that: 
i. To the extent consistent with this section, and to the extent 

reasonably practicable: (1)  the Sports Program operators and 

participants shall follow applicable guidance from the CDC 
(available at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/community/organizations/businesses-
employers.html); and (2) established and reputable COVID-
19-related guidelines for the facility and the activity at issue. 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html


October 13, 2020 
Page 26 

 
ii. Physical distancing protocols and procedures exist for staff, 

athletes and non-program participants (including 
parents/guardians), with special consideration for the type of 
athletic activities engaged in, entrances and exits, queues, 

bottlenecks, facility layouts, and safe capacity limits. 
iii. Staff and athletes are screened (via self-screening or 

otherwise) regularly for illness or exposure to COVID-19. 

iv. Staff, athletes, and non-program participants (including 
parents/guardians) always wear face coverings when 

spectating, arriving, and leaving. 
v. Socializing in groups before or after the activity is subject to 

Rule 4. 

vi. Individuals from outside the Sports Program are limited in 
their interactions with staff and participants during drop off/ 

pick up.  
vii. Athletes who are sick from COVID-19 may not attend the 

activity until they are cleared for release from isolation 

according to CDC guidelines and cleared to return by a 
healthcare provider. 
 

22.   Film Production. Provided written authorization is obtained in advance by 
the Mayor’s office, local, national, and international film production, 

television production, streaming production, and similar production may 
operate in the County based on the guidelines and recommendations for 
production cast and crew members available at 

https://www.honolulu.gov/rep/site/oed/oed_docs/Guidelines_and_Best_
Practices_for_filming_on_the_Island_of_Oahu_during_the_time_of_COVID_
060320.pdf. 

 
23. Commercial event operators. Under the supervision of professional event 

planners or venues, commercial events (such as luau or weddings) may be 

conducted with the following restrictions: 

a. Outdoor venues only. 

b. Maximum 100 persons, including staff. 

c. Table seating required. Maximum of 10 persons per table. Each 

table should be reserved for members of the same household only 

(no intermixing of parties). 

d. Food and beverage service must comply with the requirements for 

Restaurants/Bars in Paragraph 17. 

e. Musicians must comply with the requirements in Paragraph 14.  

f. Karaoke or other guest singing is not allowed.   

g. Dancing by guests are not allowed, except for customary dances 

such as between a bride/groom or parent/child at a wedding.  

https://www.honolulu.gov/rep/site/oed/oed_docs/Guidelines_and_Best_Practices_for_filming_on_the_Island_of_Oahu_during_the_time_of_COVID_060320.pdf
https://www.honolulu.gov/rep/site/oed/oed_docs/Guidelines_and_Best_Practices_for_filming_on_the_Island_of_Oahu_during_the_time_of_COVID_060320.pdf
https://www.honolulu.gov/rep/site/oed/oed_docs/Guidelines_and_Best_Practices_for_filming_on_the_Island_of_Oahu_during_the_time_of_COVID_060320.pdf
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h. Any requests for variation from these rules (e.g. for larger events 

such as luau) must be approved by the County of Maui.  

  

24. Movie theaters provided written authorization is obtained in advance by 

the Mayor’s office. 
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