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PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY RULES, EFFECTIVE APRIL 9, 2021 

 
The virus that causes Coronavirus 2019 Disease (“COVID-19”) is a novel 

severe acute respiratory illness that is easily transmitted, including by 

individuals who are infected but showing no symptoms.  As of March 31, 2021, 

there were  128,490,863cases and 2,808,439 deaths globally, and the United 

States continues to record the highest numbers of cases, with 30,417,211 cases 

and 551,503 deaths (https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/map.html). To date, there are 

29,581 cases and 462 deaths in the State of Hawaii, with 2,970 cases in Maui 

County (https://health.hawaii.gov/coronavirusdisease2019).  

On February 12, 2021, Governor David Y. Ige issued the Eighteenth 

Proclamation related to COVID-19, which continued the mandatory 10-day self-

quarantine for all persons entering the State of Hawaii.  Transpacific travelers 

who provide written confirmation of a State-approved negative COVID-19 test 

are excepted from self-quarantine in accordance with the State’s Emergency 

Proclamation.  The Eighteenth Proclamation also continued the interisland 

quarantine to 10 days for travelers to the counties of Maui, Kauai, Hawaii, and 

Kalawao.  These Rules are based on evidence of COVID-19 within the County 

and State of Hawaii, as reported by the Centers for Disease Control and 
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Prevention (CDC), the State Department of Health (DOH), scientific evidence, and 

best practices regarding the most effective approaches to slow the transmission 

of communicable diseases generally and COVID-19 specifically. 

By the authority vested in me as Mayor of the County of Maui, by the 

Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended (“Charter”), the 

Constitution and laws of the State of Hawaii, I, MICHAEL P. VICTORINO, Mayor 

of the County of Maui of the State of Hawaii, hereby amend, adopt and 

promulgate the following rules, pursuant to Section 127A-25, Hawaii Revised 

Statutes (“HRS”), which have the force and effect of law.  Violation of any of the 

following rules is punishable as a misdemeanor, with fines of up to $5,000, a 

maximum of one year in jail, or both.   

I. Definitions 

A. Essential Activities include: 

 

1. Tasks essential to maintain health and safety, such as 

obtaining medicine, seeing a doctor, and testing for COVID-19. 
2. Getting necessary services or supplies for an individual, or that 

individual’s family or household members, such as getting food, 
pet food, and supplies necessary for staying at home. 

3. Engaging in outdoor activity, such as walking, hiking, running, 

ocean sports (surfing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, or 
fishing). 

4. Performing work related to operation of an essential business 

or essential government functions (defined below). 
5. Caring for a family member in another household. 

6. Caring for elderly, minors, dependents, persons with 
disabilities, or other vulnerable persons. 

 

B. Operation of an Essential Business includes: 

1. Healthcare operations, including home health workers. 
2. Essential infrastructure, including operation of public 

transportation and utilities. 
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3. Grocery stores, food banks, convenience stores, and farmer’s 

markets. 
4. Businesses that provide necessities of life for economically 

disadvantaged individuals and shelter facilities. 

5. Pharmacies, health care supply stores, and health care 
facilities. 

6. Gas stations, auto repair facilities, and auto supply stores. 

7. Financial institutions. 
8. Refuse collection. 

9. Hardware, lumber, and other building material stores. 
10. Maintenance service providers, such as plumbers, electricians, 

exterminators, yard or ground maintenance, and other service 

providers necessary to maintain the safety, sanitation, and 
essential operation of residences and businesses. 

11. Laundromats and laundry service providers. 
12. Businesses that primarily ship or deliver groceries, food, and 

goods. 

13. Preschool facilities (daycare, summer camp, etc.) operating in 
compliance with state laws, administrative rules, and 
restrictions, provided that children do not switch groups; 

groups are located in separate rooms and not commingled; 
caregivers are assigned and remain with one group of children. 

14. Newspapers, television, radio, and other media. 
15. Construction and maintenance, public and private, provided it 

is conducted in workplaces in a manner that ensures worker 

safety, including physical distancing requirements. 
16. Agricultural operations, including delivery and shipment of 

flowers, provided measures are implemented to ensure worker 

safety, including physical distancing requirements. 
17. Businesses that supply other essential businesses with the 

support or supplies necessary to operate, e.g., chemical supply 
companies. 

18. Businesses conducting legally mandated activities. 

19. Businesses that provide food, shelter, and other necessities of 
life for animals, including animal shelters, rescues, kennels, 

and adoption facilities. 
20. Funeral, mortuary, cremation, burial, cemetery, and related 

services. 

21. Educational institutions, including Kindergarten-12 grade, 
colleges, and universities. Private educational institutions shall 
comply to the extent feasible with the State of Hawaii 

Department of Education’s practices and policies related to the 
COVID-19 health emergency.  

22. Hotels and motels, to the extent used for lodging, in compliance 
with the State of Hawaii restrictions. 
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C. Designated Businesses and Operations, as described in Exhibit 
A. 

  
D. Government Functions:  Includes all services needed to ensure the 

continuing operation of the government agencies that provide for the 

health, safety, and welfare of the public. 
 

II. RULES 

Rule 1: Act With Care.  All individuals currently within the County are 

encouraged to stay at their residence or place of lodging, except as provided in 

these Rules.  With respect to persons residing in hotels, condominiums, 

townhomes, apartments, or other multi-unit dwellings, “place of residence” 

means the person’s individual hotel room or unit. To the extent persons use 

shared or outdoor spaces (e.g., condominium common areas, pools, barbecue 

areas) when outside their residence, they must comply with Rule 5, as ordered 

by the State of Hawaii, or as instructed by the CDC, whichever is more stringent. 

Rule 2: County Meetings or Hearings. County meetings or hearings, 

including contested case hearings, are suspended, provided that meetings or 

hearings may be held to the extent such meetings or hearings are conducted by 

telephone or video conference as determined solely by the County department 

providing administrative assistance to the board or commission. In addition to 

all County boards and commissions, this Rule applies to all proceedings that 

involve live testimony by government employees or members of the public (i.e. 

arbitrations, depositions, hearings, etc.).  

 Rule 3: County Deadlines or Automatic Approvals.  Any County 

deadline or automatic approval of any permit application, unless specifically 
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provided for by Mayor’s directive, or contested case matter under the Maui 

County Code or the administrative rule of any County department, board, or 

commission that is currently pending, is hereby continued to 60 days from the 

date of the latter of the following:  the termination of the County’s Proclamation 

of Emergency of Disaster related to COVID-19, as may be extended; the 

Declaration of Termination of Emergency issued by the undersigned; or the date 

of the current deadline or automatic approval in the Maui County Code or any 

administrative rule of any board, commission, or agency, as of the date of the 

adoption of these Rules.  This Rule applies only to deadlines for action imposed 

by ordinance or administrative rule on any County department, board, and 

commission.  This Rule does not extend any permit condition of any existing 

permit that has already been approved.  This Rule does not extend the time for 

filing of an appeal for matters that have already been decided by a County 

department, board, or commission. 

Rule 4: Social Gatherings. Indoor or outdoor social gatherings of up to 

5 persons are permitted.  Face coverings are required and physical distancing of 

at least 6 feet between separate social gatherings must be maintained. 

Gatherings of members of a single residential or family unit sharing the same 

address are not restricted.  Rule 4 does not apply to essential or designated 

businesses and operations, pursuant to Sections I(B), I(C), and Exhibit A, that 

have supervision, monitoring, and other enforcement protocols in place or are 

otherwise subject to specific rules or restrictions, e.g., the state and federal court 
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systems, state and federal offices and functions, Department of Education, 

daycares, preschools, private schools, universities, and similar institutions. 

Rule 5: Masks, Physical Distancing, Sanitation.  Persons shall comply 

with the following physical distancing and sanitation requirements: 

 
a. Face covering.  The requirements of Governor Ige’s Eighteenth 

Proclamation are incorporated herein by reference, and in the case of any 

difference in these Rules and the State’s Proclamation, the more 
stringent or comprehensive shall apply. 

 
As a general guideline, “if you have to ask, wear a mask.” 
 

Pursuant to Exhibit J to the State’s Eighteenth Proclamation, exemptions 
to mask wearing are included, such as individuals are not required to 

wear face coverings “while outdoors when physical distance of six (6) feet 
from other individuals (who are not members of the same 
household/living unit/residence) can be maintained at all times.” 

 
Within Maui County, this exception applies: 
1. When persons are stationary and adequately separated, such as 

occupying a pool lounge chair, beach chair, or towel. 
2. Face coverings must be worn while walking to and from the pool or 

beach area and may only be removed once the person is stationary 
and adequately separated from non-household members. 

 

This exception does not apply, and face coverings are required: 
1. On sidewalks, hiking trails, and in parks and similar areas, unless 

actively engaged in strenuous outdoor physical activity, provided 

adequate physical distancing is both possible and practiced.  

2. In any open-air or partially open mall, marketplace, lobby, atrium, 

gas station, or similar facility. 

3. Where specific facility rules, such as for sports, bars, and restaurants, 

are established. 

 
b. High risk populations. Elderly and others at high risk for Covid-19 are 

urged to stay in their residences to the extent possible, except to seek 
medical care. 

 

c. Persons who are sick. Persons who are sick, have a fever, cough, or 
who are exhibiting symptoms such as shortness of breath, difficulty 
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breathing, chills, repeated shaking with chills, muscle pain, headache, 

sore throat, or new loss of taste or smell, are urged to stay in their 
residences to the extent possible, except to seek medical care. 

 

d. Six-foot distances. All persons shall maintain a minimum of six-feet 
of physical separation from all other persons to the fullest extent 
possible. Essential and designated businesses or operations shall 

designate with signage, tape, or other means, six-foot spacing for 
employees and customers waiting in line. Essential and designated 

businesses or operations shall monitor and enforce the six-foot 
distancing requirement, whether with outside waiting lines or as 
customers move about inside a facility. Stores with aisles shall use 

signage to indicate one-way access to the extent feasible. Checkout 
operations shall be modified, to the extent reasonably feasible, to 

provide this separation or to provide a transparent shield or barrier 
between customers and checkout clerks. 

 

e. Limited occupancy. Each essential or designated business or 

operation shall determine and enforce the maximum number of 

persons that may be accommodated while maintaining the specified 

physical distance and limiting the number of individuals within a 

facility.  Unless a more specific limit applies elsewhere in these Rules, 

essential or designated retail businesses shall limit total occupancy to 

30 percent of the facility’s maximum occupant load. For all retail space 

not subject to maximum occupancy limits by the building code (e.g., 

under 50 maximum occupants): maximum occupancy shall be 

determined by taking the total square footage of retail space, dividing it 

by 36 square feet, and multiplying by 30 percent.  Retailers shall be 

allowed to round up to whole numbers for occupancy requirements. 

 

f. Sanitation measures. Essential and designated businesses or 

operations shall make hand sanitizer and sanitizing products readily 

available for employees and customers. Employees handling items from 

customers, such as cash or credit cards, shall frequently utilize hand 

sanitizers. 

 
g. Disinfection. Essential and designated businesses or operations shall 

regularly disinfect all high-touch surfaces. A list of disinfectants that 
meet the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s criteria for use 
against Covid-19 is available at https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-

registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2-covid-19.  
 

h. Safeguards for high-risk populations. Essential businesses shall 
implement processes to safeguard elderly and high-risk customers, 



March 31, 2021 
Page 8 

 
such as exclusive shopping hours, which shall be conspicuously posted 

and enforced. 
 

i. Pickup at store or delivery.  To the extent feasible, essential and 

designated businesses or operations shall provide for online ordering 
and purchase of goods, delivery, and customer pickup of orders outside 
the facility. 

 
j. Signage. Essential and designated businesses or operations shall post 

a sign at the entrance of the facility informing employees and customers 
that they shall, at a minimum: wear CDC recommended face coverings 
while in the business or operation; avoid entering the business if they 

have a cough or fever or otherwise do not feel well; maintain a six-foot 
distance from one another; do not shake hands. 

 

k. Enforcement.  Businesses or designated operations shall refuse to 

allow entry to persons not wearing face coverings, unless an exception 
applies under this section. Businesses not enforcing or not in 
compliance with any of these Emergency Rules may be subject to 

enforcement, including fines and mandatory closure. Subsequent 
violations may result in increased fines and/or longer periods of 
mandatory closure. 

 
Rule 6: Exhibit A details specific requirements for certain businesses 

and activities, e.g., restaurants, bars, cafes, and other food establishments; 

salons, estheticians, massage, and body work; and sports. 

Rule 7:  Nightclubs and concert halls are ordered closed until notified 

otherwise. Such businesses may conduct “minimum basic operations.”  

Minimum basic operations do not include in-person public/customer 

interactions and are limited to the minimum activities necessary to maintain the 

value of the business’s inventory, ensure security, and process payroll and 

employee benefits. 

Rule 8: Beaches and County parks are open; however, the County 

may close parks for maintenance or repairs, to address safety concerns, or for 
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COVID-related response.  Waiale Park shall remain closed to accommodate the 

provision of temporary emergency shelters.  County parks and beach parks will 

be open from 7:00 a.m. through 7:00 p.m., except that outdoor County courts 

(e.g., tennis, basketball, etc.) may remain open until 8:00 p.m.  Only permitted 

commercial activities are allowed. No party bouncers (bouncing castles, etc.), 

water or other slides will be allowed at any beaches or County parks.  Persons 

at any County park must comply with Rule 5. 

Rule 9: Repealed. 

Rule 10: Liquor Control Officers (“LCOs”) shall have the authority to 

enforce emergency rules at any establishment licensed to sell alcohol pursuant 

to Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 281.  An establishment that is not in 

compliance with these rules, including those listed in Exhibit “A”, attached 

hereto, shall be subject to immediate closure for a twenty-four hour (24) period 

effected by the Maui Police Department and/or LCO.  Liquor licensees not in 

compliance with the requirements of these rules shall also be subject to penalties 

enforceable pursuant to the Liquor Laws of Hawaii, Hawaii Revised Statutes 

Chapter 281, which may include a reprimand, fine, suspension, and/or 

revocation of the liquor license. 

Rule 11: Mandatory quarantine and quarantine lodging. 

a. Health Screening and Quarantine.  Unless excepted under Rule 12, 
all persons traveling to the County of Maui, whether interisland or from 
out of state, shall be subject to health screening pursuant to Exhibit B 

of Governor Ige’s Eighteenth Proclamation and mandatory self-
quarantine.  The period of self-quarantine shall begin on the date of 

entry into the County of Maui and shall last 10 days or the duration of 
the person’s presence in the County, whichever is shorter. A person 
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subject to quarantine may only break quarantine to seek medical 

attention, or as otherwise allowed under a limited quarantine 
exemption approved by the State or County.  

b. Quarantine Lodging.  Pursuant to Governor Ige’s Eighteenth 

Emergency Proclamation, persons who have not been approved for 
limited quarantine by the State or County and who require paid or 
commercial lodging while subject to the mandatory 10-day quarantine 

shall designate a hotel or motel on the County’s approved list as their 
quarantine location.   

Short-term rental homes (STRH), bed and breakfast (B&B) homes, 
or other types of transient vacation rentals (TVR), as defined in the Maui 
County Code may be designated as a quarantine location for a new or 

“intended” Hawaii resident, provided that the full 10-day quarantine is 
served and not stopped early.  No STRH, B&B, or TVR may be 

designated as a quarantine location for a new or “intended” Hawaii 
resident more than once in any six-month period.   

STRH, B&B, and TRV may provide lodging for persons 1) not 

subject to quarantine or 2) for travelers performing critical 
infrastructure (“CISA”) functions, as described in Section III.A of the 
Eighteenth Proclamation, who have been issued a limited quarantine 

exemption by the State or County, provided quarantine restrictions are 
followed.   

The property owner, manager, agent, landlord, tenant, and guest 
shall each be responsible for ensuring, and documenting, compliance 
with this Rule.  Documentation shall be provided to the County, at the 

County’s request.  Failure to provide such documentation within the 
time specified in the request shall be deemed a violation of this rule. 

   

Rule 12: Requests for Limited Quarantine and Quarantine 

Exemptions. 

a. CISA Limited Quarantine.  A quarantine exemption request for travel 

into Maui County from within the State of Hawaii must be made at 
www.mauicounty.gov.  Requestors must timely supply all required 

documentation prior to travel.   
Persons who travel into Maui County solely to conduct critical 

infrastructure (“CISA”) functions, as identified in Section III.A of the 

Governor’s Eighteenth Proclamation, may be approved for a limited 
“home-to-work” quarantine exemption.  If a limited exemption is 
granted by the County, such person may go to and from work only and 

shall be subject to all quarantine restrictions when not performing their 
critical infrastructure work or engaging in the activity expressly 

exempted.  All travelers who obtain a limited quarantine exemption 
must download and present to screeners either the AlohaSafe Alert 

http://www.mauicounty.gov/
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application (available at www.alohasafealert.org), or other Google-Apple 

exposure notification system application or setting enabled, prior to 
entry into Maui County. 

b. Maui County Travel, Kalawao County-Molokai Travel.  Persons not 

subject to any quarantine or stay-at-home order who travel solely 
within the islands of Maui County or solely between Kalawao County 
and other locations on Molokai will not be subject to quarantine or pre-

travel COVID-19 testing when traveling within Maui County.  These 
persons do not need to apply for a quarantine exemption, but must 

present their flight itinerary to screeners on arrival. This exemption 
does not apply if any portion of the travel is outside Maui County, 
including connecting flights through Oahu, or if the person has traveled 

outside the State of Hawaii in the past 10 days and they are subject to 
quarantine or pending the result of an approved COVID-19 test. 

c. Travel for Medical or Veterinary Purposes.  Persons not subject to 
any quarantine or stay-at-home order who travel outside Maui County 
solely for medical or veterinary purposes, providing the travel is same 

day or overnight only, will not be subject to quarantine or pre-travel 
COVID-19 testing upon their return to Maui County. These persons do 
not need to apply for a quarantine exemption, but must present their 

flight itinerary and doctor’s letter with date of appointment clearly 
indicated to screeners on arrival. If the medical traveler requires a travel 

companion, this person must be specifically named in the doctor’s 
letter. This exemption does not apply if the travel involves any non-
medical related purposes. 

d. Exposure Notification System - Required.  All travelers into Maui 
County, whether interisland or transpacific, who wish to avoid 
quarantine by pre-testing within the State’s Safe Travels Program, must 

additionally download either the AlohaSafe Alert application or another 
Google-Apple Exposure Notification System application, or enable their 

exposure notification setting on their mobile device.  Proof of 
registration, such as showing airport screeners or any law enforcement 
officer, the application installed or the setting enabled on a traveler’s 

mobile device, is required.  Failure to register with an exposure 
notification system prior to arrival into Maui County shall result in 

mandatory quarantine, except for any individual under the age of 18, 
or who does not possess a mobile device or compatible mobile device.   

e. Travelers with Negative COVID-19 Test – Pre-Arrival.  Interisland or 

transpacific travelers age five and older who provide written 
confirmation of a negative test result from an approved COVID-19 test 
administered to the traveler within 72 hours from the last leg of 

departure prior to arrival into Maui County, are exempt from 
quarantine with proof of registration on an exposure notification system 

as described above; provided, that random sampling of up to 100 
percent of transpacific arriving travelers, as determined by the County 

http://www.alohasafealert.org/
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of Maui, into Maui County who choose to participate in the State’s pre-

test program to bypass quarantine are also required to obtain a second 
COVID-19 test upon arrival in Maui County.  Children under the age of 
five traveling with parents or guardians who have negative COVID-19 

test results are exempt from quarantine and post-arrival testing.  
“Approved COVID-19 test” means a test to determine the presence 

of active COVID-19 infection that has been approved for use by the 

DOH and administered by a DOH approved provider located within the 
State of Hawaii. Currently approved are Nucleic Acid Amplification 

Tests (NAAT) from a certified Clinical Laboratories Improvement 
Amendment (CLIA) lab. For information on COVID-19 testing, visit 
https://hawaiicovid19.com/travel/getting-to-hawaii/.  

Travelers whose negative test results are not available at the time of 
arrival, must quarantine pursuant to Rule 11 at their place of lodging 

for 10 days or the duration of their stay in Maui County, whichever is 
shorter. Persons subject to quarantine who require paid or commercial 
lodging must quarantine at an approved quarantine hotel or motel. A 

STRH, B&B, or TVR shall not be designated as their place of 
quarantine. The hosts of any person subject to mandatory self-
quarantine are subject to all provisions of these Rules and the 

Governor’s proclamation. 
f. Vaccine Passport.   Persons who have completed all recommended 

doses of a vaccine for COVID-19 approved by the State of Hawaii 
Department of Health and whose last dose was administered at least 
14 days prior to the date of arrival into the County of Maui may upload 

their results to the State’s Safe Travels program or otherwise provide 
written validation that they have completed a vaccine regimen approved 
by the State of Hawaii Department of Health.  This exemption is not 

available as of the date of these Emergency Rules, and requires action 
by the Director of the Hawaii Emergency Management Agency. Details 

will be posted at https://hawaiicovid19.com and on mauicounty.gov. 
Once the Vaccine Passport program is approved by HIEMA, such 
persons will not be subject to pre- or post-travel COVID-19 testing or 

quarantine, but must observe all Rules, including mandatory use of 
face coverings. 

g. Prior Positive COVID-19.  Persons who previously tested positive for 
COVID-19 but are no longer at risk of infecting others may obtain an 
exemption from a travel quarantine prior to travel.  Any transpacific 

travelers requesting such exemption should obtain the exemption 
through the State of Hawaii.   Inter-County travelers requesting such 
exemption should do so through the County of Maui.  Instructions can 

be found on mauicounty.gov.  The conditions under which a person 
qualifies for this exemption shall be as set forth by the State 

Department of Health, whose guidance on this type of exemption may 
be subject to change.  Children under the age of five traveling with their 

https://hawaiicovid19.com/
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guardian who is approved for an exemption from quarantine for 

previously testing positive for COVID-19, will receive an exemption as 
well without providing additional documentation.  

h. Costs.  Persons shall bear all costs related to their pre-travel testing, 

and any subsequent costs related to their COVID-19 status, including, 
but not limited to, monitoring, lodging, potential isolation, and any 
associated care. 
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These rules shall take effect on April 9, 2021 at 12:01 a.m., unless

otherwise specified, and repeal the Emergency Rules promulgated January 19,

2021. With the exception of Rule 3, these Rules shall be repealed upon the

earlier of: 1) subsequent promulgation or 2) termination of the Proclamation of

Emergency for Maui County.

MICHAEL P. VICTORINO
Mayor
County of Maui
March 31, 2021

PROVED:

/MOANAJ~i~Y

/ Corpor$i~n Counsel
County of Maui

REVIEWED ON BEHALF OF GOVERNOR DAVID Y. IGE BY:

Print Nani≥’&~id ‘Mge
Title: Governor, State of Hawaii
Date: April 5, 2021
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EXHIBIT “A” 

 
RULES FOR  

DESIGNATED BUSINESSES AND OPERATIONS 

  
1. Businesses may request reconfiguration of the customer usage area, such 

as expansion of table seating or merchandise display into a business’s 

parking lot, in order to provide for adequate physical distancing, by letter 
to the Mayor’s Office. Such reconfiguration shall not exceed the scope of 

the use pre-Covid. 
2. Golf courses, provided they follow restrictions/guidance by the PGA. 

Beverage carts are allowed, provided workers wear gloves and masks and 

use tongs to pass out items and contactless payment processing. 
3. Bowling alleys, provided they follow restrictions/guidance by the United 

States Bowling Congress or similar entity. 
4. Safety inspection stations. 
5. Auto dealerships, including showrooms. 

6. Retail and repair services that do not involve physical contact. 
7. Photographers, videographers, and photo studios. Customers who are 

members of the same household may remove their face coverings during 

the photo/video shoot or session only. The photographer/videographer 
must wear a face covering at all times. This does not apply to non-

commercial photography. 
8. Food courts, including movie theater snack bars. See Restaurants, below, 

for operating restrictions. 

9. Condominium, Homeowners, or Planned Community Associations, if 
required by law, declaration, or bylaws, may conduct in-person meetings, 
provided: (1) all persons must distance at least six feet apart; (2) everyone 

wears masks; (3) the meeting must be conducted outside; (4) no more than 
one person from each lot or unit can attend the meeting; (5) no 

food/beverages may be served; and (6) the meeting is limited to conducting 
business only (no owners’ forums, social gatherings, etc.). Condition (4) 
may be modified only to the extent that two or more unit or lot owners may 

attend a meeting in person if the association’s declaration or bylaws permit 
or require voting according to ownership interest in the unit. 

10. Automated service providers that do not require human interaction 
between the service provider and the customer, including, but not limited 
to, fully automated car washes. 

11. Mobile service providers that provide services on a mobile basis in which 
no human interaction between the service provider and the customer, 
including, but not limited to, mobile pet grooming and car 

washing/detailing businesses. 
12. Music instruction should follow the National Federation of State High 

School Associations and National Association of Music Education’s Fall 
2020 Guidance for Music Education, available at 
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https://www.nfhs.org/media/3812373/nafme_nfhs-guidance-for-fall-2020-review-june-19-

2020-final.pdf, to the extent feasible. 

13. Choirs with musicians are permitted to rehearse and perform, on condition 
that each member is spaced a minimum of 10 feet away from each other 

and in compliance with proper sanitation of all equipment, chairs, and 
high touch areas.  Masks will not be required of singers during rehearsal 
or performance. 

14. Musical performances. No more than 10 musicians on stage, six-foot 
distance between musicians, and a minimum of ten feet between the stage 

and audience. No dance floor or other area where audience members may 
congregate shall be allowed. Seating should follow restaurant guidelines, 
or for stadium type seating, physical distancing described in Rule 5 is 

required (maximum number of occupants, distancing between groups). 
15. In-person spiritual services may be conducted provided all of the following 

are implemented: 
a. All persons present at the service must maintain six (6) feet of 

physical distance between others, except members of the same 

household or living unit.  Organizers are should limit the number of 
persons attending in-person spiritual services to ensure this 
physical distancing requirement is met.   

b. Organizers and employees are strongly encouraged to develop and 
implement appropriate COVID-19 mitigation plans and procedures 

for their respective in-person services, which must include, but are 
not limited to, addressing the following issues: 

i. Usage of face coverings as detailed in Rule 5(A). 

ii. Safeguards for higher risk populations consistent with CDC 
guidance, available at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/need-extra-precautions/index.html. 

iii. Persons who are sick. 
iv. Personal hygiene. 

v. Usage of hand sanitizer and sanitizing products. 
vi. Cleaning and disinfection. 
vii. Online and remote access and/or drive-in services. 

viii. Signage. 
ix. Limiting community sharing of worship materials and other 

frequently touched items. 
x. Projection of hymns and verses, when possible. 
xi. Organizers and employees of in-person spiritual services must 

follow to the greatest extent possible current COVID-19 
related County guidelines, State of Hawaii guidelines, CDC 
guidelines (available at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/community/faith-based.html). 

 

16. Drive-in spiritual, and non-spiritual, services or events (such as drive-in 
movies) provided: 

https://www.nfhs.org/media/3812373/nafme_nfhs-guidance-for-fall-2020-review-june-19-2020-final.pdf
https://www.nfhs.org/media/3812373/nafme_nfhs-guidance-for-fall-2020-review-june-19-2020-final.pdf
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a. Persons attending services must drive up in an enclosed vehicle and 

remain in that same vehicle during the entire event.  Sitting in the 
bed of an open-air pickup truck is allowed. 

b. Vehicle windows, sunroofs, and convertible tops must remain closed 

during the entire service, unless the vehicle is parked more than six 
(6) feet away from any other vehicle.  

c. Persons within the same vehicle must wear face coverings as 

provided in Rule 5, unless the vehicle is occupied only by members 
of the same household or living unit.  

d. Organizers and all participants must follow current County Rules, 
State, and CDC guidelines.  

e. Organizers, observing physical distancing, should be present to 

ensure proper spacing between vehicles and the orderly compliance 
of all guidelines.  Organizers should not interact with vehicle 

occupants beyond requesting their compliance with all guidelines. 
f. Organizers should use cashless or other non-contact methods for 

monetary transactions, including collections.  

g. Presentations may be conducted by radio transmitters, or streamed 
over the internet. 
 

17. Restaurants, bars, food courts, commercial events such as luau and 
weddings, and other food establishments in the County shall comply with 

the following requirements: 
a. General.  

i. Bars and restaurants must close no later than 10 p.m.  This 
restriction does not apply to drive-through, non-liquor related 
take-out, delivery, or room service only.  For non-liquor 

related take-out service, customers shall not enter the 
restaurant past 10 p.m.  

ii. Compliance with Physical Distancing Requirements in Rule 5.  
iii. Compliance with all regulatory guidelines. 

Development, posting, and implementation of written 

protocols (“COVID-19 Mitigation Plan”) consistent with 
County, State, industry-specific associations or 
organizations, and CDC guidance to mitigate the spread of 

COVID-19 including, but not limited to the following: 
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/community/organizations/business-employers/bars-restaurants.html 

b. Operations. 
i. Face coverings (as defined in Rule 5).  

1. Employees must wear face coverings. 
2. Customers - Customers must wear face coverings at all 

times, but may temporarily remove a face covering only 
while actively eating or drinking.  
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ii. Seating is arranged so that six (6) feet of separation is 

maintained between tables. Limit occupancy to no more than 
thirty percent (30%) of the maximum interior occupant load. 

iii. The number of persons at one table can be no more than 10, 

provided they are all members of the same household, and no 
more than 5 if all persons are not members of the same 
household. 

iv. Condiments shall be by request in single-use disposable 
packets, or reusable condiment containers that are sanitized 

between parties.  
v. Condiments, silverware, flatware, glasses, or other traditional 

table top items must not be left on an unoccupied table. 

vi. Tables and chairs must be fully sanitized after each group (or 
individual customer) leaves the restaurant.  

vii. Disposable foodware and utensils should be used when 
available. When non-disposable foodware or utensils are used, 
they must be sanitized after each use consistent with DOH 

guidance and regulations, and “best practices” of the FDA 
(available here: https://www.fda.gov/food/food-safety-
during-emergencies/best-practices-re-opening-retail-food-

establishments-during-covid-19-pandemic), as updated or 
superseded.  

viii. Provide disposable menus or menu board, or sanitize reusable 
menus after each use.  

ix. Hourly touch-point sanitization (workstations, equipment, 

screens, door knobs, restrooms, etc.) required.  
x. Buffets, salad bars, and other types of self-service of food or 

beverages are not allowed.   

xi. For restaurants that accept reservations, entry into the 
restaurant is on a reservation only basis, and parties must 

wait in their vehicle until called into the restaurant. 
xii. No dancing; karaoke is allowed provided the signer is at least 

10 feet from others; no general customer singing. 

xiii. Music performance allowed (see Nos. 13 and 14, above). 
 

c. Hygiene.  
i. Employer must provide hand washing capability or sanitizer 

for employees and customers.  

ii. An adequate supply of soap, disinfectant, hand sanitizer, and 
paper towels must be available at all times.  

iii. Frequent hand washing by employees, especially between 

interactions with customers.  
 

d. Staffing.  
i. Provide training for employees regarding these requirements.  
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ii. Conduct pre-shift screening, and maintain a staff screening 

log.  
iii. No employee displaying symptoms of COVID-19 should 

provide services to customers. Symptomatic or ill employees 

should not report to work.  
iv. No person should work within 72 hours of exhibiting a fever 

or other COVID-19 symptoms, and follow the CDC’s “What To 

Do If You Are Sick” guidance, available at 
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-

sick/steps-when-sick.html.  
v. Employer must establish a plan for employees getting ill and 

a return-to-work plan following CDC guidance, which can be 

found online at: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/community/guidance-business-response.html.  

 
e. Cleaning and Disinfecting.  

i. Cleaning and disinfecting must be conducted in compliance 

with CDC guidance.  
ii. When an active employee is identified as being COVID-19 

positive by testing, cleaning, and disinfecting must be 

performed as soon after the confirmation of a positive test as 
practical consistent with CDC guidance.  

iii. CDC guidance can be found online at: 
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html  

 
f. Specific requirements for bars: 

i. Limit occupancy to no more than thirty percent (30%) of the 

maximum occupant load of the bar. 

ii. Limit groups within the bar to a maximum of five (5) 

individuals per group. 

iii. Ensure groups within the bar maintain at least six (6) feet of 

separation from other groups. 

iv. Prohibit groups within the bar from intermingling. 

v. Designate areas to separate groups at least six (6) feet apart 

from each other.  (E.g., through ropes or other physical 

separation for standing areas, or the seating of guests at 

separate tables, or both). 

vi. Ensure individuals in different groups maintain a minimum 

of six (6) feet of physical distance from each other to the 

greatest extent possible. 

vii. Require all employees to wear face coverings. 
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viii. Ensure all customers wear face coverings at all times, except 

customers may temporarily remove face coverings only while 

actively eating or drinking. 

g. Encouraged practices:  
i. Have customers enter and exit through different entries using 

one-way traffic, where possible.  
ii. Start or continue entryway, curbside, and home delivery.  
iii. Encourage making reservations, preordering for dine-in 

service, and ordering for contactless pickup and delivery 
either by telephone or other remote means.  

iv. If meals are provided to employees, employers are 
recommended to have the meal individually packaged for each 
employee. 

v. Implement cashless and receiptless transactions. 
 h.  Any exceptions to these provisions for special events must be 

approved by the County of Maui. 

 
18. Close-contact personal services, such as hair and nail salons, tattoo 

parlors, estheticians, and massage, may conduct business, provided 
operators are in compliance with State law and administrative rules. 
a. Hygiene 

i. Employees are required to wash hands immediately, upon 
entry, and prior to and following each service and break.  

ii. All employees will be required to wear a CDC-recommended 
face mask whether servicing clients or not. Technicians may 
utilize plexiglass shields between employee and client. 

iii. Patrons must come alone without guests, except where the 
patron requires the assistance of another adult; minors 
receiving services are allowed one accompanying adult.   

iv. All patrons must wear a mask or cloth face covering pursuant 
to Rule 5, unless receiving treatment that specifically involves 

the face or head (e.g., facials, shaving, trimming around the 
ears). 

v. Patrons must wait outside for appointments, either in cars, or 

in lines allowing for 6 feet of separation. 
vi. Patrons will be asked to remain seated in designated 

workstation/chair until otherwise necessary or for an 

emergency. 
vii. Patrons must use hand sanitizer and or wash hands 

immediately upon entry. 
 

b. Monitoring and screening workers and clients 

i. Employees who are sick must stay home. 
ii. Shop owner/managers must provide training, educational 
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materials, and enforcement of proper sanitation and all 

applicable rules. 
iii. Businesses must keep detailed daily logs of their daily 

business, including who came in, on what day and time, 

contact information, and service provider.   
iv. Employees must be temperature screened upon arrival. Any 

employee with a temperature of 99 degrees or higher must be 

immediately sent home. 
v. Each employee and client must be asked the following intake 

questions daily/at scheduling of the appointment, and upon 
check-in for appointments (via cell phone, prior to physical 
entry into the salon). If any of the answers to the below is 

“yes,” the employee is not allowed to work and customers may 
not receive services. 

1. Do you now, or have you had in the past 14 days: 
a. a cough or sore throat? 
b. fever or do you feel feverish? 

c. shortness of breath? 
d. loss of taste or smell? 

2. Have you been around anyone with these symptoms in 

the last 14 days 
3. Have you been out of state or out of Maui County in the 

last 10 days, and if so, are you subject to any 
quarantine? 

 

c. Environment 
i. Service providers to client ratio will be 1:1. 
ii. Services on appointment basis only; no walk-ins. 

Appointment scheduling must allow for adequate sanitation 
between appointments. 

iii. Prior to opening and at the end of each day (at a minimum), 
the facility, including break room and bathroom, must be 
thoroughly cleaned and sanitized to CDC workplace guidance. 

iv. Frequent daily cleaning of all high-touch surfaces. 
v. No magazines, toys, coffee machines, or other common area 

offerings allowed. 
vi. Workstations must be spaced to enforce physical distancing 

practices of 6 feet between clients. Businesses should 

consider divider shields and alternative work schedules. 
Workstations must be disinfected at the start and end of each 
shift, and in between each client. 

vii. Capes/smocks and towels must be single-use, either 
disposable or washed/dried and use for only one customer. 

Used items must be kept in an airtight container and 
laundered in hot, soapy water and dried at high temperature. 
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viii. Contactless payment should be used whenever possible; 

credit card terminals must be wiped after each use. 
Customers must remain seated until called for checkout; one 
customer at a time. No cash payments; no tip jars. 

ix. EPA-approved disinfectant or disinfecting techniques must be 
used for technical implements and work areas. 

 

d. Nail salons/services 
i. Pedicure bowls must be disassembled and disinfected daily; 

for bowls with jets, they must run a minimum of 10 minutes 
with disinfection. 

ii. Manicurists are encouraged have plexiglass or similar shields 

between technician and client. 
 

19. Canoe paddling. Six-person (single hull/OC-6) or 12-person (double 

hull/OC-12) canoe paddling will be allowed with the following conditions: 

a. Only official members of a canoe club shall participate in OC-6 or 
OC-12 practices, in compliance with the restrictions on Outdoor 

Sports, Phase 1, as reasonably practicable, and these paddling-
specific restrictions. Recreational practices for non-members, 
guests, visitors, or drop-ins shall not be allowed.  

b. To the extent possible, members of a canoe club wishing to paddle 
should register with their respective club for each paddling session 

for contact tracing purposes.  Canoe clubs shall maintain the record 
of each paddling session for at least one month from the date of 
activity.  

c. Canoe clubs are encouraged to create “crew bubbles,” such that 
when crews are established, paddlers stay within their assigned 
crew to limit potential exposure to other club members.  

d. Participation is voluntary.  Individuals who are sick, exhibiting any 
symptoms, or have been exposed to anyone who is ill, COVID-19 

positive, shall not be allowed to participate for 10 days from the date 
of exposure or the cessation of symptoms, or as otherwise approved 
by a healthcare professional. Persons subject to quarantine, and 

persons residing within the same household as a person subject to 
quarantine, shall not participate.    

e. To the extent possible, paddlers should continue paddling with the 
same crew members and not switch crews.   

f. Water or shoreline changes between crew members during a 

paddling session should not be allowed (must stay in the same seat 
assigned), unless done so for safety or health purposes.    

g. Coaches must follow the restrictions in Outdoor Sports, Phase 1.  

Workouts or plans for paddling sessions should be shared with 
participants electronically or on bulletin boards prior to the activity. 

Coaching should be limited to one crew at a time.   
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h. To the extent possible, paddling activities should be time staggered 

between crews to avoid large gatherings, and crews must remain 
physically separated.    

i. To the extent possible, club paddles should be assigned to 

individuals during this period, or individuals should bring their own 
ancillary equipment and supplies.  Sharing of personal paddles, seat 
cushions, gloves, personal care products, water bottles / hydration 

systems and other similar items are prohibited.   
j. Canoe club facilities or hales may be used for non-essential events 

or other social gatherings, in compliance with limitations on groups 
in Rule 4.   

k. Paddlers should follow proper hygiene protocols, including washing 

hands or using hand sanitizer before and after participating.  Gloves 
and masks are encouraged, but not required. Canoe clubs shall 

make soap and/or hand sanitizer available for participants.  
l. All touch points should be disinfected before each use, including 

iakos, manus, seats, gunnels, bailers, and other similar items.  

Canoes and other equipment are recommended, but not required, to 
be left out in the sun and ambient temperature in between uses.    

m. To the extent possible, when launching or concluding activities, 

canoe clubs should utilize wheels or other mechanical assistance to 
move the canoes, and avoid contact between paddlers.   

n. To the extent possible, wheels should be left under the canoes when 
not in use, and when concluding activities wheels should be placed 
under the canoe while still in the water.   

  
20. Commercial and recreational boating will be allowed, subject to all County 
 or State regulations, including any specific operational restrictions 

 imposed by the State of Hawaii Department of Land and Natural 
 Resources, and the following conditions: 

 a. Larger boats with a Coast Guard-rated capacity of more than 10,  
  may allow not more than 50% of the rated capacity individuals  
  allowed on the boat, including the boat crew. 

 b. Sanitation rules detailed in Rule 5 are followed.  
  

21. Outdoor organized sports (phase 1).  This section applies to outdoor 
organized sports such as baseball, soccer, outdoor volleyball, surfing, 
swimming, and similar outdoor sports (“Sports Program(s)”).  Sports 

Programs may conduct skill-building drills and team-based practice, but 
not competitive play (“Phase 1”) under the following requirements and 
conditions: 

a. Activities are limited to skill-building drills and team-based practice 
in which physical distancing of six (6) feet or more between 

participants may generally be maintained.   
b. No close contact activities, including, but not limited to, huddles, 
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high fives, and handshakes. 

c. Groups are limited to a single Sports Program team, or a maximum 
of 30 participants, including players and coaches, whichever is less.  
(This is an exception to the general rule restricting groups to 5 or 

less contained in Rule 4). Where multiple groups are present at a 
facility or field, Sports Program operators must implement measures 
to ensure that groups maintain six (6) feet of physical distance 

between each other at all times (i.e., no mingling between groups).   
d. To the greatest extent reasonably practicable, physical distancing of 

at least six (6) feet between members of different households/living 
units should be maintained; and face coverings should be worn at 
all times unless engaged in active practice. 

e. Sports Program operators must implement measures to ensure that: 
 

i. To the extent consistent with this section, and to the extent 
reasonably practicable: (1) the Sports Program operators and 

participants shall follow applicable guidance from the CDC 
(available at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/community/organizations/businesses-

employers.html); and (2) established and reputable COVID-
19-related guidelines for the facility and the activity at issue. 

ii. Physical distancing protocols and procedures exist for staff, 

athletes and non-program participants (including 
parents/guardians), with special consideration for the type of 

athletic activities engaged in, entrances and exits, queues, 
bottlenecks, facility layouts, and safe capacity limits. 

iii. Staff and athletes are screened (via self-screening or 

otherwise) regularly for illness or exposure to COVID-19. 
iv. Staff, athletes, and non-program participants (including 

parents/guardians) always wear face coverings when 
spectating, arriving, and leaving. The presence of non-
participants should be discouraged during Phase 1. 

v. There is no socializing in groups before or after (unless 
otherwise authorized by these Rules). 

vi. Individuals from outside the Sports Program are limited in 

their interactions with staff and participants during drop off/ 
pick up.  

vii. Athletes who are sick from COVID-19 may not attend a 
practice or training until they are cleared for release from 
isolation according to CDC guidelines and cleared to return 

by a healthcare provider. 
viii. Any staff or athlete exposed to a person with a confirmed or 

probable case of COVID-19 may not attend the program until 
they have completed quarantine following CDC guidelines.  

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html
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ix. All program activities are evaluated to identify and mitigate 

“high-risk” activities (shared equipment, incidental close 
contact, etc.) to reduce or prevent COVID-19 transmission. 
 

f. Individuals must comply with any requirements imposed by the 
Department of Parks and Recreation. 

g. Nothing in this section requires a public or private Sports Program 
to open. 

 

22.  Competitive play for outdoor Sports Programs.  Excluded from this section 

are outdoor sports and similar activities that require sustained close 
contact, such as outdoor wrestling, boxing, and mixed martial arts.  These 
close contact sports may continue under Phase 1 (above).  Sports 

Programs may conduct competitive play under the following requirements 
and conditions: 

 

a. Activities may include competitive team play (e.g., one baseball team 
against another, or one soccer team against another), ocean-related 

competitions, or training.  (This is an exception to the general rule 
on groups of 10 persons or less contained in Rule 4).    

b. When not engaged in competitive team play or training that requires 

close contact, close contact should be reduced or eliminated to the 
extent possible (e.g., sitting close to teammates on a bench, standing 

close to teammates or opponents during downtime).   
c. No close contact activities outside of those necessary to carry out 

the competitive team play or training, including, but not limited to, 

huddles, high fives, and handshakes. 
d. No more than two Sports Program teams may compete against each 

other on an outdoor field, court, etc. at a time.  Each Sports Program 

team is limited to a maximum of 30 participants, including players 
and coaches.  Where other competitive play/games are scheduled 

on the same field, court, etc., Sports Program operators must 
implement measures to ensure that teams waiting to play maintain 
six (6) feet of physical distance from the other teams playing at all 

times (i.e., no mingling between groups).   
e. To the greatest extent reasonably practicable, physical distancing of 

at least six (6) feet between members of different households/living 
units should be maintained; and face coverings should be worn at 
all times unless engaged in active play. 

f. No more than 100 people should be present at any competitive play 
event allowed under this section, including any participants and 
coaches from sports program teams.   

g. Sports Program Operators must work with the Department of Parks 
and Recreation and implement measures to ensure that: 
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i. To the extent consistent with this section, and to the extent 

reasonably practicable: (1)  the Sports Program operators and 
participants shall follow applicable guidance from the CDC 
(available at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/community/organizations/businesses-
employers.html); and (2) established and reputable COVID-
19-related guidelines for the facility and the activity at issue. 

ii. Physical distancing protocols and procedures exist for staff, 
athletes and non-program participants (including 

parents/guardians), with special consideration for the type of 
athletic activities engaged in, entrances and exits, queues, 
bottlenecks, facility layouts, and safe capacity limits. 

iii. Staff and athletes are screened (via self-screening or 
otherwise) regularly for illness or exposure to COVID-19. 

iv. Staff, athletes, and non-program participants (including 
parents/guardians) always wear face coverings when 
spectating, arriving, and leaving. 

v. Socializing in groups before or after the activity is subject to 
Rule 4. 

vi. Individuals from outside the Sports Program are limited in 

their interactions with staff and participants during drop off/ 
pick up.  

vii. Athletes who are sick from COVID-19 may not attend the 
activity until they are cleared for release from isolation 
according to CDC guidelines and cleared to return by a 

healthcare provider. 

23.   Film Production. Provided written authorization is obtained in advance by 
the Mayor’s office, local, national, and international film production, 

television production, streaming production, and similar production may 
operate in the County based on the guidelines and recommendations for 

production cast and crew members available at 
https://www.honolulu.gov/rep/site/oed/oed_docs/Guidelines_and_Best_
Practices_for_filming_on_the_Island_of_Oahu_during_the_time_of_COVID_

060320.pdf. 
 

24. Commercial event operators. Under the supervision of professional event 
planners or venues, commercial events (such as luau) may be conducted 
with the following restrictions: 

a. Outdoor venues only. 

b. Maximum 100 persons, including staff. 

c. Table seating required. Maximum of 10 persons per table. Each 

table should be reserved for members of the same household only 

(no intermixing of parties). 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html
https://www.honolulu.gov/rep/site/oed/oed_docs/Guidelines_and_Best_Practices_for_filming_on_the_Island_of_Oahu_during_the_time_of_COVID_060320.pdf
https://www.honolulu.gov/rep/site/oed/oed_docs/Guidelines_and_Best_Practices_for_filming_on_the_Island_of_Oahu_during_the_time_of_COVID_060320.pdf
https://www.honolulu.gov/rep/site/oed/oed_docs/Guidelines_and_Best_Practices_for_filming_on_the_Island_of_Oahu_during_the_time_of_COVID_060320.pdf
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d. Food and beverage service must comply with the requirements 

for Restaurants/Bars in Paragraph 17. 

e. Musicians must comply with the requirements in Paragraph 14.  

f. Karaoke is allowed, provided the singer is at least 10 feet from 

others.  General guest singing is not allowed. 

g. Dancing by guests is allowed, provided dancers wear face 

coverings and maintain at least six feet of distance, except for 

customary couple’s dances such as between a bride/groom or 

parent/child at a wedding.  

h. Any requests for variation from these rules (e.g. for larger events 

such as luau) must be approved by the County of Maui.  

  

25. Wedding event operators. Under the supervision of professional event 

planners, venues or catering and convention service managers, weddings 

may be conducted with the following restrictions: 

a. Outdoor venues only (e.g. permitted private venues, hotels, beaches 

and/or churches).  The property utilized must follow all 

permitting/zoning regulations for such events, and must obtain or 

have proper authorization before conducting such event.  

b. Maximum 100 persons, including staff. 

c. Usage of face coverings are required as detailed in Rule 5(A). 

Permitted exceptions are as follows: 

i. Procession & Recession (e.g. family, bridal party, bride & 

groom). 

ii. Officiate, provided there is at least a 6 foot distance maintained 

at all times between officiate and bride and groom, and between 

the officiate and any guests or staff. 

iii. Guests once seated at the ceremony or reception location, 

provided that a minimum of 6 feet separates each row of 

seating.  

iv. During cocktail reception only while actively eating or drinking, 

or seated, provided that there is at least a 6 foot distance 

between groups of 10 or less. 

v. During photos (e.g. bride and groom photo, bridal party and 

family photos) 

vi. During toasts or speeches when the microphone stand is 10 ft. 

from any guest. 

vii. Customary dances such as between a bride and groom or 

parent and child. 

d. Table seating required as follows: 
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i. Maximum of 8 persons per table. Table sizes of 8’ x 4’ rectangle, 

60” round or 60” square, 72” round or 72” square are examples 

of recommended dimensions. 

ii. It is recommended that each table be reserved for members of 

the same household. 

iii. Dining tables can be pre-set with tableware (dinner and salad 

plates, cutlery and glassware) so long as dining area is roped off 

prior to guest seating; linens, chargers, stationary goods, 

flowers and miscellaneous décor (e.g. table numbers, etc.) can 

be pre-set. 

iv. Food and beverage service must comply with the requirements 

for Restaurants and Bars in Paragraph 17. 

e. Musicians and entertainment must comply with the requirements 

in Paragraph 14. 

f. Dancing is allowed, provided dancers wear approved face coverings. 

Two dancers permitted every 36 square feet (6 x 6 ft.). Up to 32 

dancers will be allowed as follows: 

i. 8 dancers for a 12 x 12 dance floor 

ii. 12 dancers for a 12 x 18 dance floor 

iii. 18 dancers for an 18 x 18 dance floor 

iv. 32 dancers for a 24 x 24 dance floor 

g. Safety protocols are required as follows, no exceptions: 

i. Staff and guests, including bridal party, bride and groom, will 

require a temperature check upon arrival. Any person with a 

temperature over 100.4 will not be allowed to remain. 

ii. A record of all guest names with a contact number for each 

guest is required. 

 

26. Movie theaters, including snack bar operation, provided written 

authorization is obtained in advance by the Mayor’s office in compliance 

with the requirements for the operation of Restaurants, above. 

 

27. Ground transportation and commercial tour operators that are public 

utilities commission certified may operate at no more than 50% capacity 

of each respective licensed vehicle, excluding the driver from the capacity 

limits.  Masks must be worn at all times, with proper sanitation and 

health and safety guidelines in place.  Separate parties in each vehicle 

shall be physically separated to the greatest extent possible. Taxis and 

ride-share shall be limited to a maximum of 5 passengers, unless all 

passengers are household members sharing the same residence address. 
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28. Gyms, yoga studios, and similar venues, whether indoor or outdoor, 

must comply with Rule 5, and specifically must ensure that all 

occupants wear face coverings at all times unless medically exempt.  
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